Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-12-2010, 12:11 PM
Fuzzyc Fuzzyc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 87
Default Transferring sessions between Mac and PC

I Can anyone explain how to transfer sessions between the Mac and the PC?would like to be able to collaborate with a band member that is running Pro Tools on a Mac (I'm on a PC running Windows 7).

I wish I could help but I'm not as familiar with Mac as a PR

Thanks!!

Last edited by Fuzzyc; 04-15-2023 at 05:25 PM. Reason: Wasn't involved in this thread.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-14-2010, 03:22 PM
solitaire349 solitaire349 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2
Default Re: Transferring sessions between Mac and PC

I've been wanting to do this my self, just read this in the pro tools 101 book but haven't tried it my self yet so I don't know if it will work, or if there is something else needed to be done...but go to file->save copy in->then fill out the boxes. select the save as type drop down menu (in case you have an earlier version of pro tools). choose the audio file format for wav I guess and then there should be a box to check for "enforce MAC/PC Compatibility"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-15-2010, 08:07 AM
scenicrecords scenicrecords is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 177
Default Re: Transferring sessions between Mac and PC

If you are transferring with a Flash Drive or a External Hard Drive, make sure you format it to FAT32. Only FAT32 will read/write on both systems. If you are formatting it on a Mac using the Disk Utility, I think the choice is MS-DOS.
__________________
Dell Studio 1555 Laptop, Intel Core Duo T6600 2.2GHz, 4GB RAM
Windows 7 64-bit
Pro Tools M-Powered 8.0.4cs2
M-Audio Firewire 410 via Digi-Qualified SIIG FireWire 2-Port ExpressCard {NN-EC2012-S1}
Glyph 050Q 500GB via eSATA
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-15-2010, 12:32 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Transferring sessions between Mac and PC

I transfer PT sessions between Mac and PC all the time with no issues. Never had to check "enforce Mac/PC compatibility." YMMV.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-15-2010, 03:10 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,644
Default Re: Transferring sessions between Mac and PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dism View Post
I transfer PT sessions between Mac and PC all the time with no issues. Never had to check "enforce Mac/PC compatibility." YMMV.
Same here, I get Mac drives (HFS+) all the time with no issues. I never use FAT 32 anymore. Just be sure you have checked the box on your PT installation for HFS+ support.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2024 HDX Hybrid
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-15-2010, 05:10 PM
scenicrecords scenicrecords is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 177
Default Re: Transferring sessions between Mac and PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
Same here, I get Mac drives (HFS+) all the time with no issues. I never use FAT 32 anymore. Just be sure you have checked the box on your PT installation for HFS+ support.
I did not know there was a way to read HFS+ on Windows.
__________________
Dell Studio 1555 Laptop, Intel Core Duo T6600 2.2GHz, 4GB RAM
Windows 7 64-bit
Pro Tools M-Powered 8.0.4cs2
M-Audio Firewire 410 via Digi-Qualified SIIG FireWire 2-Port ExpressCard {NN-EC2012-S1}
Glyph 050Q 500GB via eSATA
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-15-2010, 05:27 PM
scenicrecords scenicrecords is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 177
Default Re: Transferring sessions between Mac and PC

You guys must be using LE or HD. I just found this in the M-Powered setup guide:

Pro Tools M-Powered does not support the following
Pro Tools LE options:
• Complete Production Toolkit
• DV Toolkit 2
• Digidesign Ethernet-based control surfaces
(such as C|24™)
• Avid video peripherals
HFS+ Disk Support
__________________
Dell Studio 1555 Laptop, Intel Core Duo T6600 2.2GHz, 4GB RAM
Windows 7 64-bit
Pro Tools M-Powered 8.0.4cs2
M-Audio Firewire 410 via Digi-Qualified SIIG FireWire 2-Port ExpressCard {NN-EC2012-S1}
Glyph 050Q 500GB via eSATA
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-16-2010, 07:21 AM
Fuzzyc Fuzzyc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 87
Default Re: Transferring sessions between Mac and PC

We've been able to easily transfer the wav files back and forth without any problem, but not real sure how to transfer the "session". Dism - do you mind sharing some tips on how you do that?

Also, one of our challenges has been that when we have a track that is placed in the middle of a song (and doesn't start from the beginning), when you send just the wav file its placed at the beginning of the song when you import it into PT. So you have to manually move that track into place. If you have several wav files it gets to be a pain. Can you help me with that as well?

Many thanks!!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-16-2010, 07:49 AM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Transferring sessions between Mac and PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzyc View Post
We've been able to easily transfer the wav files back and forth without any problem, but not real sure how to transfer the "session". Dism - do you mind sharing some tips on how you do that?
Just grab the whole session folder... put it on your next system, open it. That's all there is to it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzyc View Post
Also, one of our challenges has been that when we have a track that is placed in the middle of a song (and doesn't start from the beginning), when you send just the wav file its placed at the beginning of the song when you import it into PT. So you have to manually move that track into place. If you have several wav files it gets to be a pain. Can you help me with that as well?

Many thanks!!
This won't be a problem when you open the actual session... but it's good to know for when you need to bounce to other DAWs. Pro Tools is particularly good at this.

Simply:

Select all regions in question, from the very end. Hold Shift and press Enter (Return on Mac). This creates a selection from 0 on your timeline to the end of your regions. Consolidate regions (shift+alt+3). What this does, is puts silent "space" before your regions so that they all start at 0. Export Regions as Files... and now you have wavs that can be imported to any DAW and will all be lined up.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-16-2010, 09:28 AM
Fuzzyc Fuzzyc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 87
Default Re: Transferring sessions between Mac and PC

Thanks Dism! That is a big help! I'll give it a try later today.
__________________
-------------------------------------
Model: PC AudioLabs Rok Box i9
OS: Windows 10 64 Bit
CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i9-9900KF CPU @ 3.60GHz
Memory: 32GB
Internal Hard Drives:
500GB= Programs
1TBGB= Audio
1tbGB= Samples/Back Up
External Hard Drives: Verbatim 1TB USB Drive
RME Fireface UFX Interface/Preamps
Pro Tools 2023
Focal CMS 65 Monitors
Avantones
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transferring sessions gteam Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 04-05-2008 10:50 PM
transferring sessions between pc and mac philywily Tips & Tricks 2 02-26-2006 05:58 PM
Transferring Sessions KRUSH GROOVE 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 08-19-2005 12:08 AM
transferring sessions from PC to MAC ? Dan Downs Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 10-20-2003 03:22 PM
transferring sessions q... JEdmunds 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-04-2003 03:36 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:38 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com