Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-07-2008, 01:09 PM
DCOhio DCOhio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 7
Lightbulb Mac Time Machine as Hard Drive(?) + Back Up

I know Time Machine is a back up system and that once it's full, it will start to delete old files to put in new ones, but it does give you a warning and the option to say no.

So my question is rather than using Time Machine for ONLY back up and using a separate FW hard drive to keep my music files on, is anyone using Time Machine for the back up feature AND as a hard drive aspect also? I am able to place my Folder of MyMusic on it so I know it would back up separately and not interfere with my music folder I put on it manually. And DigiDesign told me they thought it would work because the ethernet connection is even faster than a firewire 400 or 800 connection. But I'm wondering if anyone is doing this and having success with this, so I could stop using my other hard drive?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-07-2008, 05:48 PM
cakes cakes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 188
Default Re: Mac Time Machine as Hard Drive(?) + Back Up

The problem is that Time Machine will keep filling up the drive with backups until it's full, and then you'll have no room to put new audio on there. Every time you want to start a new session, or record new audio, you'll have to go into the Time Machine folder and delete more backups. There's no option to limit Time Machine to X amount of space - it's greedy and will take all available space on the drive.

cakes
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-07-2008, 07:44 PM
DCOhio DCOhio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 7
Default Re: Mac Time Machine as Hard Drive(?) + Back Up

I wonder then if the drive can be partitioned to serve as a hard drive for protools, and as a back up drive for the other partition?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time Machine Hard Drive first or last? djarcey 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 08-13-2010 08:20 AM
Backup Drive for Time Machine lwilliam General Discussion 2 01-04-2009 08:05 AM
Time Machine as Hard Drive for ProTools? DCOhio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-10-2008 08:34 PM
External Hard drive with Time Machine = Won't Work J FRANK 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-18-2008 07:50 PM
MBox on a single hard drive machine Groovecake 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 01-12-2004 10:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com