Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-01-2004, 11:20 AM
hilliard hilliard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 33
Default 16bit or 24bit, 44.1 or 48, how should I operate?

I'm doing pop/r&b/dance tunes (drum-machines/synths/workstations and vocals..some multi-layered background vox).

Also, I'm using the mBox with an emachines m6810 (AMD Athlon 64) +3200 laptop with the stock 512MB memory.

As mentioned, the sound sources are sequencer/workstations (Roland XP-50, Korg Triton, etc), drummachines (some oldies like the Linn LM-1, Roland CR-8000, E-mu SP-12, SCI Drumtraks, etc), and alot of different synths (Juno's, Moogs, XP-50/JV-2080/JD-800, etc), and good 'ole "analog" human vocals (hehe).

What should I be using for my new sessions, 16-bit or 24-bit, and 44.1 or 48 sampling rates?

A few production partners are using the digi002 rack (and 001) with mac G4 and G5 systems. I think they might be using the higher settings (some that are not even possible on the mbox), maybe because they are available, or maybe because they also do some film/video production (i hear that the higher settings are better/required for those apps).

Will I still be ok working with their projects/sessions, if we have differing settings? We plan to swap sessions back and forth on some tunes, adding tracks and overdubs, etc as we go.

What's best for my setup/situation?

What's best (if different from the first answer) for our common working arrangment on these shared sessions/tunes?

Thanx so much for any info/advice.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-01-2004, 11:25 AM
myfm myfm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 267
Default Re: 16bit or 24bit, 44.1 or 48, how should I operate?

Most people work at 24 bit 44.1 - for better sound quality when working but it's really up to you.

However, if you're working with other people and transfering files, you'd want to work at whatever resolution they're using.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-01-2004, 11:29 AM
nukmusic nukmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: new orleans, la
Posts: 1,433
Default Re: 16bit or 24bit, 44.1 or 48, how should I operate?

Well 24/48(or 16/48) because some of your sessions may one day get mixed on analog consoles.
__________________
Docta'J

Download free music at
http://www.nukmusic.com
nEVER uNDERESTIMATE kNOWLEDGE
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-01-2004, 11:38 AM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: 16bit or 24bit, 44.1 or 48, how should I opera

There's certainly a debate about sample rate, but there's no good reason not to use 24 bit. Disk space is cheap, and CPU load is essentially the same (except for possible side-effects of 50% greater disk I/O)
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-01-2004, 11:55 AM
hilliard hilliard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 33
Default Re: 16bit or 24bit, 44.1 or 48, how should I opera

Ok, one more question, tho':

What about the +6 or +12 fader choice? (I hope this is right, I'm at work and can't recall the exact text for the selction on the the new session creation).

Oh yeah, if I choose anything besides 16bit and 44.1, I'll need to do some conversions when burning an audio CD of my tunes, right? If so, is it still better to work in the higher bit and higher rate environment?

Sorry for the "dumb" questions.....I'm REEEEEAAAAAALLLLLYYYYY new to this.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-01-2004, 11:56 AM
bigbubbaj bigbubbaj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 1,457
Default Re: 16bit or 24bit, 44.1 or 48, how should I opera

I use 24/48 99% of the time. Works great, sounds great.

Funny thing, I am remixing and re tracking some stuff for a client that was originally recorded at another studio on PTLE at 16/44.1 and at 64 buffer size got an UNDERFLOW. LOL.
__________________
5198 Studios
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is Xpand2 16bit or 24bit? Kinh Virtual Instruments 19 01-29-2010 11:01 PM
16bit vs 24bit TwinSnakes007 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 07-14-2008 06:39 PM
44.1? 48? 96? 16bit? 24bit? rcook349 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 05-25-2006 02:22 PM
Going from 24bit to 16bit Glenn75 Tips & Tricks 3 03-21-2005 04:32 AM
Best way to get from 24bit/44.1 to 16bit/44.1? Tone Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 11-09-2003 11:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com