Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-11-2021, 02:47 PM
fork-media fork-media is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Wellington New Zealand
Posts: 478
Default what video card? AJA or Blackmagic

looking for some ideas about the consensus on running video with PT11.3.2?

I'm still running an 2012 mac mini and PT 10 on the whole, but like the idea of being able to run drop box again ( not supported in current ancient OS ) as well as HD video.

I can switch to a newer partition very easily - with high sierra and perpetual license for PT HD 11.3.2

which would you go with AJA or Blackmagic?

is USB 3 video going to do the trick - lots of rapid Locating required using HD video?

Or consider jump right up to a protools ultimate? and a later OS?

I'm actually really fast and comfortable with current system, dont really want to spend time resetting ancilliary stuff up and pt11 is already working basically - I am still tempted to stay in PT10 as my quick keys . samplers etc are all working fine. and I have a couple of rush jobs on

I just upgraded to post production suite 5 on Izotope which is what is prodding me to go later OS ( eventually). but. have RX loudness control working in PT10 now so that was the main pressure
__________________
i7 6 core mac mini running monterey 12.2.1 - 32Gig RAM SSD
Focusrite Saffire PRO 40
Ultimate 202112 / HD Avid MC Mix / MC Control
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-11-2021, 04:22 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,147
Default Re: what video card? AJA or Blackmagic

I have had success using both, but it will require a bit of research into models and drivers for your system and OS. AJA make some really reliable stuff, but it can be problematic with models having different hardware revisions that aren’t compatible with every system. Blackmagic hardware on the other hand seems to work in most systems, but different versions of the drivers work better than others. Some googling it usually necessary. Perhaps wait till you have some downtime to get tucked into it.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au
Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.12. OSX 10.14.6. HDX2. DAD DX-32R. DADman 5.4.5.1. Mac Pro 2013. 10 Core 3.0gHz. 64Gb. Blackmagic Extreme HD. Sync HD. Dobly Mastering Suite 3.7.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-12-2021, 02:55 PM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 886
Default Re: what video card? AJA or Blackmagic

I find Aja the best, I used to have Blackmagic but driver issues put me off.
__________________
Mac Pro 7,1 16 core, OSX 10.15.6, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, MTRX Studio, 2xRME ADA-4, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, Avid Dock, Avid S1, PT Control, Soundflow, PT 2022.4
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-07-2021, 05:41 PM
fork-media fork-media is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Wellington New Zealand
Posts: 478
Default Re: what video card? AJA or Blackmagic

have plumped for AJA - got a cheap T tap.

Its ok. but not as solid as the quicktime environment in PT10HD

Doesnt like changing between different projects that have had different Video codecs.

(I have been experimenting with ways to get to DNxHD.

using MB_Convert2DNxHD_PT. a widget

I tried resolve but kept crashing.

I have succeeded with adobe media encoder - but makes larger files - not sure if have the optimum settings


Over all I find my system is a bit slower in high sierra - frequent memory warnings wondering if should think about a "new" computer - perhaps a trashcan mac with 32 or 64 Gb Ram may help?
__________________
i7 6 core mac mini running monterey 12.2.1 - 32Gig RAM SSD
Focusrite Saffire PRO 40
Ultimate 202112 / HD Avid MC Mix / MC Control
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what video card? AJA or Blackmagic fork-media Pro Tools 11 0 09-10-2021 11:30 PM
alternative to BlackMagic PCI card for video to HDMI? MixerGuy Post - Surround - Video 6 02-28-2015 07:23 AM
With new Mac Pro, do we still need BlackMagic or AJA? Only for video out. Stereosurfer Post - Surround - Video 9 11-13-2014 03:12 AM
PCIe video out with non-Blackmagic card tom_lowe Post - Surround - Video 3 04-05-2010 11:43 AM
Does anybody use Blackmagic Video Card ? Ale Post - Surround - Video 1 05-12-2005 12:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com