Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-28-2022, 03:24 AM
Antigua Antigua is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 62
Default Avid Icon Control Surface Compatibility (D|Command/Control) with PT Studio 2022.4?

What’s the likelihood compatibility with Avid Icon (D|Command/Control) has been unlocked for PT Studio along with other feature additions from PT Ultimate?

Last edited by Antigua; 04-28-2022 at 04:26 AM. Reason: For clarity
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-28-2022, 03:40 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,742
Default Re: Icon Control Surface Compatibility with PT Studio 2022.4?

PT Studio supports both HUI and Mackie Control, so the Icon controllers should work just fine.
__________________
Will

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-28-2022, 03:51 AM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,319
Default Re: Icon Control Surface Compatibility with PT Studio 2022.4?

Suspect you might both be talking about different Icons here.

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-28-2022, 03:56 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,742
Default Re: Icon Control Surface Compatibility with PT Studio 2022.4?

Ah…. The AVID Icon…. Yeah, I don’t know about that one LOL.
There had been some confusion on which versions support controllers in general.
__________________
Will

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-28-2022, 04:24 AM
Antigua Antigua is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 62
Default Re: Icon Control Surface Compatibility with PT Studio 2022.4?

Yeah Pete is correct, I should have written Avid Icon.. I’ll correct this now.
Very keen to know if anyone who has a D|Command/Control can test this with a PT Studio licence.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-28-2022, 05:16 AM
abc1mce2's Avatar
abc1mce2 abc1mce2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Motor City
Posts: 432
Default Re: Icon Control Surface Compatibility with PT Studio 2022.4?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antigua View Post
Yeah Pete is correct, I should have written Avid Icon.. I’ll correct this now.
Very keen to know if anyone who has a D|Command/Control can test this with a PT Studio licence.

I would think that all D|Command/Control owners would be running PT Ultimate. If you have a PT Ultimate License, you also have a PT Studio license as well. The only problem is that it's in a locked group so you can't use/try them separately to run your test.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Pro Tools Locked Group.jpg (34.6 KB, 0 views)
__________________
What is more relaxing than Music?
Pro Tools Carbon is here!
My HDX is here for Windows only.


Gigabyte Z490 Vision D - BIOS F21b
Intel Core I9 10850K Windows11 / macOS 12.6 Hackintosh / 32GB of Rams
Avid Carbon/HDX 2022.12 Ultimate - 16x16 - 8x8x8 HD I/O - PT Dock - PT Control - Artist Mix (2)
Universal Audio Apollo Twin|X - UAD2 Pci-E and Satellite USB Octo v.10.2.1 - SOLO 610 - Twin-finity
Antelope Trinity - 10M
Grace Design M905
Bricasti M7 (2)
Lexicon PCM96
Burl B2 Bomber ADC
Dangerous 2Bus
Neumann KH805 - KH310
Yamaha NS-10M
Avantone Mixcubes
Etc, etc, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-28-2022, 05:29 AM
Antigua Antigua is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 62
Default Re: Icon Control Surface Compatibility with PT Studio 2022.4?

Quote:
Originally Posted by abc1mce2 View Post
I would think that all D|Command/Control owners would be running PT Ultimate. If you have a PT Ultimate License, you also have a PT Studio license as well. The only problem is that it's in a locked group so you can't use/try them separately to run your test.
I guess that’s likely the case, but hoping someone may have a second vanilla licence on a separate iLok that it can be tested with. Or Avid could let us know…
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-06-2022, 05:28 PM
Led Led is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 388
Default Re: Icon Control Surface Compatibility with PT Studio 2022.4?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antigua View Post
I guess that’s likely the case, but hoping someone may have a second vanilla licence on a separate iLok that it can be tested with. Or Avid could let us know…
Someone on the Icon subforum tried and said no. Shame.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-07-2022, 04:20 AM
Antigua Antigua is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 62
Default Re: Icon Control Surface Compatibility with PT Studio 2022.4?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Led View Post
Someone on the Icon subforum tried and said no. Shame.
Yeah that is a shame. I’m sure it’s not hard to change, but I guess it will affect sales of new Eucon controllers, all of which, as I understand it, are compatible with studio.

I wonder how many d|command/control users are now Thu king about downgrading to Studio and buying an s1 or two as a cost cutting option…
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-07-2022, 05:09 PM
Led Led is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 388
Default Re: Avid Icon Control Surface Compatibility (D|Command/Control) with PT Studio 2022.4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antigua View Post
Yeah that is a shame. I’m sure it’s not hard to change, but I guess it will affect sales of new Eucon controllers, all of which, as I understand it, are compatible with studio.

I wonder how many d|command/control users are now Thu king about downgrading to Studio and buying an s1 or two as a cost cutting option…
I'd think most people with Icons are on Perpetual licenses anyway, so they'll either just keep renewing at the old price, or just drop subscription and sit on an older version. Doubt most would give up Icon compatibility to save $100 a year. If they were off sub and could pay 299 to get new features and still use the Icon maybe..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ProTools 12 compatibility with MixedLogic M24 control surface southsidejohnny Windows 0 07-12-2016 02:17 PM
MIDI Control Surface compatibility TXLefty 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 08-28-2013 04:03 PM
Where are the ICON D-Control Studio Photos? dr sound ICON & C|24 4 07-16-2010 06:39 AM
003-Mackie Control surface compatibility earshatter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-20-2010 08:27 AM
ICON is the new control surface (nothing else) THE MASTER Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 04-18-2004 07:47 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com