Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-23-2022, 06:22 AM
Skwaidu Skwaidu is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 258
Default D-Command with 2022.10

Any users here?

I have it working on Ultimate, but it drops occasionally, maybe 1-2 times a day, but not every day. I'm not sure if it's starting to have glitches due to not being supported anymore or if I have trouble brewing in the network switch that is in the Ethernet chain between the machine and the D-Command.

Windows 11 21H2.
__________________
Windows 11 21H2, Intel i9-13900K, MSI PRO Z690-A D4, 64 GB DDR4 3200MHz/CL16, Corsair HX1000, 1x PCIe 4.0 1TB, 1x PCIe 3.0 2TB, 2x WD Black 6TB, Noctua NH-D15, Fractal Design Define R6 + GTX970 (for now) - PT Ultimate 2022.10

Used to be/ Spare/ DAPS: Mac Pro 4,1 upgraded to 5,1 3,46Ghz 12 Core, 96GB RAM, OS SSD and Sata3 Audio SSD, macOS Mojave, PT Ultimate 2021.10, DAPS 3.7.1

HDX2, MTRX Studio & DAD MOM, HD I/O 16x16, Apogee AD/DA 16X/X-HD and ICON D-Command ES.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-24-2022, 07:57 AM
Will Russell's Avatar
Will Russell Will Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Newfield, NY (Ithaca)
Posts: 1,066
Default Re: D-Command with 2022.10

The power supplies in these units, especially the old blue ones are pretty old and might need to be replaced. I had a problem with my Xmon going off-line randomly, and the problem is solved by replacing the power supply
__________________
Will Russell
Electric Wilburland Studio
www.wilburland.com
M1MAX Mac Studio OS 12.6, PT2022.9, HDX, D-Command
M1 PRO MacBook Pro OS 12.6, PT2022.9, BabyFacePro FS
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-25-2022, 01:49 AM
Skwaidu Skwaidu is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 258
Default Re: D-Command with 2022.10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Will Russell View Post
The power supplies in these units, especially the old blue ones are pretty old and might need to be replaced. I had a problem with my Xmon going off-line randomly, and the problem is solved by replacing the power supply
Okay, damn. But the symptom was just that the connection dropped? My unit still stays on, just loses PT connection. Also, PT crashes if I try to disable Icon, but switching to Eucon and then back works (so does seem like a PT bug to me).

FWIW I'm on the grey ES one, 24 faders.
__________________
Windows 11 21H2, Intel i9-13900K, MSI PRO Z690-A D4, 64 GB DDR4 3200MHz/CL16, Corsair HX1000, 1x PCIe 4.0 1TB, 1x PCIe 3.0 2TB, 2x WD Black 6TB, Noctua NH-D15, Fractal Design Define R6 + GTX970 (for now) - PT Ultimate 2022.10

Used to be/ Spare/ DAPS: Mac Pro 4,1 upgraded to 5,1 3,46Ghz 12 Core, 96GB RAM, OS SSD and Sata3 Audio SSD, macOS Mojave, PT Ultimate 2021.10, DAPS 3.7.1

HDX2, MTRX Studio & DAD MOM, HD I/O 16x16, Apogee AD/DA 16X/X-HD and ICON D-Command ES.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-25-2022, 11:29 AM
Will Russell's Avatar
Will Russell Will Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Newfield, NY (Ithaca)
Posts: 1,066
Default Re: D-Command with 2022.10

My. XMON would mute itself and stop passing audio intermittently..the unit would remain powered on.

Impending D-Command power supply failures often show up as intermittent behavior rather than just not powering up.

If you are simply losing connection with PT I would try troubleshooting the Ethernet connection first in hopes of a cheaper fix…

These folks have been very helpful with troubleshooting advise and also have lots of parts for D-Commands like power supplies, faders, LEDs etc
https://advancedmusical.com/
__________________
Will Russell
Electric Wilburland Studio
www.wilburland.com
M1MAX Mac Studio OS 12.6, PT2022.9, HDX, D-Command
M1 PRO MacBook Pro OS 12.6, PT2022.9, BabyFacePro FS
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-26-2022, 02:50 AM
Skwaidu Skwaidu is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 258
Default Re: D-Command with 2022.10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Will Russell View Post
My. XMON would mute itself and stop passing audio intermittently..the unit would remain powered on.

Impending D-Command power supply failures often show up as intermittent behavior rather than just not powering up.

If you are simply losing connection with PT I would try troubleshooting the Ethernet connection first in hopes of a cheaper fix…

These folks have been very helpful with troubleshooting advise and also have lots of parts for D-Commands like power supplies, faders, LEDs etc
https://advancedmusical.com/
Okay, thanks. Yes, need to double-check the ethernet although it should be good, new cabling and switch which all worked great for a year.

FWIW I don't use XMon anymore, went MTRX Studio already, I guess the D-Command will go to be replaced with some S1's at some point as well.
__________________
Windows 11 21H2, Intel i9-13900K, MSI PRO Z690-A D4, 64 GB DDR4 3200MHz/CL16, Corsair HX1000, 1x PCIe 4.0 1TB, 1x PCIe 3.0 2TB, 2x WD Black 6TB, Noctua NH-D15, Fractal Design Define R6 + GTX970 (for now) - PT Ultimate 2022.10

Used to be/ Spare/ DAPS: Mac Pro 4,1 upgraded to 5,1 3,46Ghz 12 Core, 96GB RAM, OS SSD and Sata3 Audio SSD, macOS Mojave, PT Ultimate 2021.10, DAPS 3.7.1

HDX2, MTRX Studio & DAD MOM, HD I/O 16x16, Apogee AD/DA 16X/X-HD and ICON D-Command ES.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-26-2022, 03:11 PM
Led Led is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 384
Default Re: D-Command with 2022.10

Mine's working fine with 2022.10 on win10. Maybe try bypassing the switch and connect direct to see if it's a problem there?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Super SLOW mp3 import bug is back in 2022.9 and 2022.10 akproductions1 Pro Tools 12 11-01-2022 09:48 PM
Melodyne doesn't render properly after TCE Tool 2022.10 and 2022.9 Dizzi45Z Pro Tools 2 10-27-2022 05:54 PM
Crash moving tracks to new Routing Folder in PT 2022.4 [FIXED 2022.5] Dizzi45Z Pro Tools 43 05-29-2022 04:59 AM
Avid Icon Control Surface Compatibility (D|Command/Control) with PT Studio 2022.4? Antigua Pro Tools 31 05-19-2022 01:06 AM
D-Command with 2022.4 Third Eye Studios ICON & C|24 14 05-06-2022 09:29 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com