Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12-12-2021, 08:03 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,849
Default Re: Need good advice for an older setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
No, PT10 requires Snow Leopard, as in Intel-only. PT has been Intel-only since 8.1.1 so highest you can install to that computer would be 8.0cs3 but your experience will be much better on 7.2.1 (Tiger) or 7.4.2 (first Leopard release, but if you can, skip Leopard altogether).
Hmmm, we'll see if my post in the TDM on Windows section brings any good advice on PC parts. Meanwhile, to hurdy gurdy, please PM me a price as it may help my decision moving forward
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-12-2021, 08:48 AM
hurdy gurdy hurdy gurdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 273
Default Re: Need good advice for an older setup

Hi Dave PM'd you please keep in mind I'm open on this (just hoping to offset the cost of a Neve plugin I want to buy) thanks.

LB
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-12-2021, 08:53 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,961
Default Re: Need good advice for an older setup

Whatever you decide those G5 PPC PowerMacs are good. I bought the latest generation G5 (that had PCI-express) to get me through the previous transition, and in hindsight I must say it was one of the best decisions ever made.

But now, your biggest struggle is finding plugin installers that work in PPC. You may need a lot of help as it is already +15 year old system.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-12-2021, 10:16 AM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 504
Default Re: Need good advice for an older setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Whatever you decide those G5 PPC PowerMacs are good. I bought the latest generation G5 (that had PCI-express) to get me through the previous transition, and in hindsight I must say it was one of the best decisions ever made.

But now, your biggest struggle is finding plugin installers that work in PPC. You may need a lot of help as it is already +15 year old system.
Agree, the G5 PPCs were powerful machines for their time. The only issue was the fan noise. Those CPU’s generated a LOT of heat and the fans will rev up to insane levels when you push them.
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, Open Core 0.8.0 EFI, Radeon RX580 GPU, GC-TITAN RIDGE TB3 PCIe card, M.2 NVMe SSD boot drive on PCIe card, 48GB RAM, macOS 11.6.5
Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.4 HDX, UA Octo PCIe card in external TB3 chassis, MTRX Studio I/O, C|24 control surface.
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-12-2021, 11:57 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,849
Default Re: Need good advice for an older setup

Thanks to all for the education! And thanks to Len for the offer(which seems more than fair). I did order the battery for the G5 and if it boots up, then I will probably take Len up on his offer as it keeps my cost the lowest. Otherwise, given that a G5 stalls me at really old(vs pretty old) software, I am hoping for a way to do a Windows 7 PC if I can get solid advice on a good motherboard that can take the PCIx cards.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-12-2021, 02:04 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,961
Default Re: Need good advice for an older setup

I can help you with normal software issues, but your biggest trouble will be finding 3rd party plugin installers
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-13-2021, 09:03 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,849
Default Re: Need good advice for an older setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
I can help you with normal software issues, but your biggest trouble will be finding 3rd party plugin installers
Appreciate that! That thought is what is pushing me towards a Win7 and PT10 setup as plugins will be easier to get. I'll report back when I have a firm plan, but right now, things are cast in jello...like my brain
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is a new Mac good for Pro Tools and older plug-ins? Infiltrator macOS 0 12-17-2011 08:35 PM
Advice needed to upgrade older setup. needtopractice 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 08-21-2011 06:05 PM
Proper SCSI setup/advice? (for older Mac/AMIII) edgarbc1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-08-2004 11:38 AM
Who makes GOOD KVM switcher for older macs? MX Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-04-2003 12:45 AM
Is an older 882 I/O usable in a new setup? Sanj1967 General Discussion 1 11-29-2000 05:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com