Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-16-2011, 01:10 PM
*insertcoolname *insertcoolname is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Default Will I notice the improvement if I crossgrade from M-Powered 8 to ProTools 9?

First, the setup:

8 Core Mac Pro running 10.6.5
18 gigs of RAM
2 x ProFire 2626
M-Powered 8

Currently, this setup has been ok. Not great, just ok. About once a day It'll stop playback and give the "increase HW/Buffer" message. Most of the time the system seems a little sketchy on boot up (especially since I have to have the interfaces on before I turn the computer on). A few times the computer has stalled out on boot up.

With such an excellent computer I would think that it would run essentially without flaws however this is not the case. I can't shake the feeling that M-Powered is dragging the system down.

Will I notice a general increase in quality, in addition to the other features, if I crossgrade to ProTools 9?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-17-2011, 03:14 PM
KMcK KMcK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 708
Default Re: Will I notice the improvement if I crossgrade from M-Powered 8 to ProTools 9?

The Profire 2626 drivers were just updated on July 11 so at the very least you'd have some newer drivers to work with. They may even work with your current version (not sure) so you could potentially try that before upgrading to PT9 to see if it helps. (http://www.m-audio.com/index.php?do=...drivers&f=1173)

Will it actually solve your problems? Can't say. Some pretty nice feature upgrades in PT9 compares to MP8 though, I doubt you'd be in any worse shape than you currently are after upgrading, but don't hold me to that.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-17-2011, 03:46 PM
*insertcoolname *insertcoolname is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Default Re: Will I notice the improvement if I crossgrade from M-Powered 8 to ProTools 9?

Those driver updates look worthwhile no doubt. Would I have to update my OS to 10.6.7 in order to make them work?

Also, PT 9 is 32 bit as well, correct?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
M-Powered Crossgrade HELP Keywork Pro Tools 10 2 04-01-2013 11:53 AM
ProTools Bug Digidesign Notice Nathan W. Post - Surround - Video 1 03-05-2008 02:33 PM
ProTools Improvement Suggestion... Nathan W. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 08-10-2007 11:36 AM
Any hope for improvement with G5 and ProTools LE? scottyplayero 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-02-2005 04:37 PM
automation in ProTools - could use improvement? pk_hat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 15 11-04-2003 10:37 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com