Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-05-2008, 10:52 AM
Nathan W. Nathan W. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Moorpark, CA
Posts: 512
Default ProTools Bug Digidesign Notice

This is an annoying bug that needs to be fixed:

Step 1) Import OMF file
Step 2) Create a stereo track in ProTools
Step 3) Take a music track that's been imported from an OMF file (two mono tracks) and on the Right channel of the mono file include another file ONLY on that track. This could be an additional file like a piece of dialogue accidently included on a music track that shouldn't be there.
Step 4) Highlight the two mono file and CTRL-SHIFT them into a stereo track
Step 5) Notice how the region that is NOT stereo also gets dragged into the track, not a problem UNTIL you try to move that file out of the stereo track. Notice you CANNNOT move that mono file out of the track. It's stuck in that track.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-05-2008, 02:33 PM
mfranken's Avatar
mfranken mfranken is offline
Sounds In Sync
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 260
Default Re: ProTools Bug Digidesign Notice

I've had this problem.

As a work-around you can select the mono region (that's on the stereo track) and cut it (apple-x) from the track, move the selection up or down to a mono track using the 'P' or ';' keys, then paste the region. I agree it's not great especially when you have a lot of mono regions to move, but it's something.

Regards,

Mark
__________________
Mark Franken, MPSE
Dialogue editor/supervisor IMDb
Creator of 'EDI' applications for sound post editors
www.soundsinsync.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will I notice the improvement if I crossgrade from M-Powered 8 to ProTools 9? *insertcoolname macOS 2 07-17-2011 03:46 PM
Anyone notice? Demigrind 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 08-05-2006 10:42 AM
Avid Protools LE vs Digidesign Protools LE nukmusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 07-22-2004 07:58 PM
Anybody ever notice? Michael Cottrell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-30-2004 12:29 PM
Anyone else notice... JMS40 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 07-03-2002 06:11 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com