Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-09-2007, 04:28 PM
BB Edwards BB Edwards is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 9
Default Macbook Pro Noob-questions about switch from PC

I recently purchased a Macbook Pro 2.16 ghz Core 2 duo (NOT the newest one). I have been running PTLE 7.0/002R on a PC. I just had my boot drive on the PC fail, so I want to start running PT on the MBP. I am a noob when it comes to Mac, so if you would please help me answer a few questions...

1-Will my MBP recognize the sata HD I've been using for PT sessions on my PC? I'm hoping I can just pop it in an external FW400 or FW800 enclosure, load PT on the MBP and be ready to go.

2-My MBP has 1 1gb ram stick, supports maximum of 3 gb. Will I get better performance by adding a 2gb stick, or another 1gb? I thought ram should always be matched. Comments? Experiences? I thought I read somewhere of putting 2x2gb stick in the MBP even though it only supports 3gb total.

3-This will also be my first experience using an external drive via firewire. The MBP has both FW400 and 800 inputs. I'm assuming I should plug the 002R into the FW400 and get an external HD that has FW800. Best choice? Or should I daisychain the HD and the 002R via FW400?

I apologize if any of this has been gone over in the DUC already, but I'm under the gun and need help fast! Thanks in advance to any advice!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-09-2007, 05:06 PM
BB Edwards BB Edwards is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 9
Default Re: Macbook Pro Noob-questions about switch from PC

forgot to mention the sata drive is NTFS format
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-10-2007, 01:41 AM
Holly73 Holly73 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ulm, Germany
Posts: 522
Default Re: Macbook Pro Noob-questions about switch from PC

Ok, I own the exactly same machine.

1:
Your MBP should recognize the NTFS-Drive in a Firewire enclosure, but you will not be able to work with that, as Macs only can read NTFS, but not write to this format. So, the way to go is: backup your data from the NTFS drive, reformat it and copy the data back.

2:
My MBP has also 1 GB right now, and works. For sure, more RAM is better. If you are concerned about matching the RAM, just add another 1 GB stick.

3:
FW400 and FW800 should work. As I don't have a FW800 drive until now, I daisy-chain them and it works without problems.
__________________
 MBPr 15" (Mid 2015) i7, PT12.4, Studio One 3, UA Apollo Quad Firewire
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ProTools Noob - MacBook Pro performance advice... miezurecords macOS 8 08-08-2011 11:41 PM
Noob question about MBox 2, PT9 and Macbook Pro RuffinMedia Post - Surround - Video 3 04-08-2011 01:44 PM
Noob 003 Mic Pre/DI switch question abt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-27-2010 01:10 AM
2 noob questions Munkiefan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-20-2008 11:42 AM
help!!! mbox is not conecting to my macbook*noob* V22 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 03-31-2007 10:23 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com