Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 03-16-2013, 12:48 AM

Default Dialogue levels and clip gain advice.

I am new at protools, and this new feature in pt 10, clip gain change, is a bit confusing, I am working on a low budget independent movie, and audio has recorded directly down on canon 5d with many problems, my questions is, I want to put my dialogue all at -10 dbfs, if the movie will have a sort of budget it will go in hand of a mix studio otherwise I have to deliver the final product, so I am looking for an advice to a basic approach to it. first dialogue has been recorded very badly with many levels variations along the time line, and it is noisy also, an annoyng hiss is present long the whole work. I set up my PT10 project bussing the dialogue channel to an aux channel with inserts in to it for the WNS denoiser waves plug in, and an waves l3 LL multi maximizer also. Thanks for our answers
Old 03-16-2013, 09:06 AM

Question Re: Dialogue levels and clip gain advice.

Quote:
Originally Posted by alidav View Post
I want to put my dialogue all at -10 dbfs
Why?

Clip gain will not be an effective way to achieve that end.
Old 03-16-2013, 10:07 AM

Default Re: Dialogue levels and clip gain advice.

[QUOTE=Chief Technician;2016140]Why?

isn't that the general task about dialogue level? - 12 dfs or -10 dbfs and having some headroom for scream etc?
http://socialsounddesign.com/questio...stering-levels

what is the use of clip gain line why should I go to manage the original dynamic and not the volume that is the output post fader post eq and post inserts.
Old 03-16-2013, 12:57 PM

Post Re: Dialogue levels and clip gain advice.

Quote: