Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-01-2013, 11:01 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,739
Default iLok License manager

Just transferred my first license and I must say they finally have it down - nice - thanks

I had tried about a month ago and got zilch at the credit card page

This was instant - finally now I just want to have my grace period back
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-02-2013, 10:39 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,613
Default Re: Ilok manager

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
Just transferred my first license and I must say they finally have it down - nice - thanks

I had tried about a month ago and got zilch at the credit card page

This was instant - finally now I just want to have my grace period back
+11
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-02-2013, 01:52 PM
Dstryr Dstryr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 55
Default Re: iLok License manager

I just tried upgrading to 11 to find that because I have an iLok 1 (or in other words: because I've been an Avid/Digidesign customer for a number of years) I cannot use PT 11, cannot use PT 10 because that had to be surrendered, am now without PT at all and have to shell out further for an iLok 2.

Yet another Avid let-down. You'd think I'd be used to it by now.
__________________
Wie man mit dem Hammer Musik Macht

iMac 3.06 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo » 4GB RAM » Mbox 2 Pro » PT 10.3.4 » OS X 10.8.3 » Formac 500GB » Alesis M1 Active Mk2
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-02-2013, 02:16 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,739
Default Re: iLok License manager

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dstryr View Post
I just tried upgrading to 11 to find that because I have an iLok 1 (or in other words: because I've been an Avid/Digidesign customer for a number of years) I cannot use PT 11, cannot use PT 10 because that had to be surrendered, am now without PT at all and have to shell out further for an iLok 2.

Yet another Avid let-down. You'd think I'd be used to it by now.
I was forced a number of years ago into a V2 b/c of slate VCC
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-02-2013, 03:49 PM
Bruce Paine's Avatar
Bruce Paine Bruce Paine is offline
Admin Emeritus
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Carmel, CA
Posts: 2,824
Default Re: iLok License manager

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dstryr View Post
I just tried upgrading to 11 to find that because I have an iLok 1 (or in other words: because I've been an Avid/Digidesign customer for a number of years) I cannot use PT 11, cannot use PT 10 because that had to be surrendered, am now without PT at all and have to shell out further for an iLok 2.

Yet another Avid let-down. You'd think I'd be used to it by now.
Check the Private Message I sent you.
__________________
Bruce Paine
System Details
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-02-2013, 10:52 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,921
Default Re: iLok License manager

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dstryr View Post
I just tried upgrading to 11 to find that because I have an iLok 1 (or in other words: because I've been an Avid/Digidesign customer for a number of years)
The fact that PT11 needs an iLok2 has been a well known fact for a long time (before the release of 11). Obviously you didn't take the time to do any research and "because I've been an Avid/Digidesign customer for a number of years" leaves you with no excuse for not knowing in advance of upgrading.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dstryr View Post
I cannot use PT 11, cannot use PT 10 because that had to be surrendered, am now without PT at all and have to shell out further for an iLok 2.
Once you get over yourself and get what is needed to run PT11, you'll get a dual licence for 10 & 11.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dstryr View Post
Yet another Avid let-down. You'd think I'd be used to it by now.
Realistically the only one who has let you down is yourself!
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.3.2) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 10 Pro

Last edited by zedhed; 08-03-2013 at 03:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-03-2013, 05:11 AM
Dstryr Dstryr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 55
Default Re: iLok License manager

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce Paine View Post
Check the Private Message I sent you.
Hi Bruce,

Thanks for doing that for me, and quickly as well. At least I'm back with a functioning system for the time being.

Dstryr
__________________
Wie man mit dem Hammer Musik Macht

iMac 3.06 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo » 4GB RAM » Mbox 2 Pro » PT 10.3.4 » OS X 10.8.3 » Formac 500GB » Alesis M1 Active Mk2
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-03-2013, 05:42 AM
Dstryr Dstryr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 55
Default Re: iLok License manager

Quote:
Originally Posted by zedhed View Post
The fact that PT11 needs an iLok2 has been a well known fact for a long time (before the release of 11). Obviously you didn't take the time to do any research and "because I've been an Avid/Digidesign customer for a number of years" leaves you with no excuse for not knowing in advance of upgrading.



Once you get over yourself and get what is needed to run PT11, you'll get a dual licence for 10 & 11.



Realistically the only one who has let you down is yourself!
To say I did not do "any research" prior to upgrading is factually incorrect. I did a lot of research. Because Avid is so particular about the system PT runs on, I spent hours poring over the requirements and compatibility with my hardware (Mac and interface), OS and third party plug-ins.

I also looked into iLok. I checked my iLok account and said I had iLok 2.

Let me give you an example. I have just activated a 30-day PT 10 extension, which Bruce kindly gave me, and within iLok License Manager it shows a list of connected devices, namely my iMac and "iLok 2 (*******)". The same information is on my iLok online account. This suggests to me that I have an iLok 2, as is required for PT 11. Hence my research leading me to believe I had compatible hardware all-round. However, the image beside my PT 11 license (within iLok License Manager) is of a different shape to the one by my PT 10 license, which corresponds to my actual iLok.

Furthermore, what aggravates me is that I have had to pay for the upgrade to 11 and now have to pay out more. Just because iLok 2 has been around for some time makes no difference, it's still a forced expenditure. Other DAW/software developers manage to license their products without the added expense, like Logic for example, for which I was able to use my Emagic XSKey (from v5) right up to v7, and possibly 8 or 9 had I continued with it. Now Logic Pro X doesn't even require a dongle, neither does BFD. That's why it's an Avid let-down, because ultimately it is the way they have decided to protect the software which is the root cause.
__________________
Wie man mit dem Hammer Musik Macht

iMac 3.06 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo » 4GB RAM » Mbox 2 Pro » PT 10.3.4 » OS X 10.8.3 » Formac 500GB » Alesis M1 Active Mk2
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-03-2013, 09:25 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,739
Default Re: iLok License manager

I'm sure pace has let down many customers over the years - that's the let down

BFD (which I own) is a bit different animal as far as piracy is concerned - their program is pirated and most likely quite easily however you could not very easily download 65gb worth of samples over your residential connection - so that's that

Avid is a very different kind of installer that would spread over the net like a fire (it's about 4gb) so I would assume they would take extra measures
To protect their intellectual property and I don't blame them - and pace is the unfortunate outcome of the situation they find themselves in

The ilokv2 - I like it much better btw -

pace and their stripping away my grace period on new ilok's - terrible and i disdain the decision - this once again is the source of the let down
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-03-2013, 10:06 AM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,799
Default Re: iLok License manager

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dstryr View Post
To say I did not do "any research" prior to upgrading is factually incorrect. I did a lot of research. Because Avid is so particular about the system PT runs on, I spent hours poring over the requirements and compatibility with my hardware (Mac and interface), OS and third party plug-ins.

I also looked into iLok. I checked my iLok account and said I had iLok 2.

Let me give you an example. I have just activated a 30-day PT 10 extension, which Bruce kindly gave me, and within iLok License Manager it shows a list of connected devices, namely my iMac and "iLok 2 (*******)". The same information is on my iLok online account. This suggests to me that I have an iLok 2, as is required for PT 11. Hence my research leading me to believe I had compatible hardware all-round. However, the image beside my PT 11 license (within iLok License Manager) is of a different shape to the one by my PT 10 license, which corresponds to my actual iLok.

Furthermore, what aggravates me is that I have had to pay for the upgrade to 11 and now have to pay out more. Just because iLok 2 has been around for some time makes no difference, it's still a forced expenditure. Other DAW/software developers manage to license their products without the added expense, like Logic for example, for which I was able to use my Emagic XSKey (from v5) right up to v7, and possibly 8 or 9 had I continued with it. Now Logic Pro X doesn't even require a dongle, neither does BFD. That's why it's an Avid let-down, because ultimately it is the way they have decided to protect the software which is the root cause.
That symbol corresponds to the Ilok you need. Ilok 2 though will work with any.

I have been with them for around 13 years and have multiple Ilok 2's before 11 came around due to certain plugins. Its not really a matter of how long you have been with them, Its a case of how much attention has been paid and if you have purchased any plugins the last few years that has required an Ilok 2. You can think of it as an added expense but it extends further than PT itself. Go puchase plugins from Slate (He has specials all the time giving them away for free), Sonnox, Avid, Metric Halo, etc. they all require v2. You dont seem to have the same hostility toward the first Ilok?

the Emagic dongle you speak of was supported only till Logic V.7
Logic X is only 200.00$ new...... Quite a difference to PT.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 9900k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
License problems with iLok License Manager musicman691 General Discussion 261 03-04-2015 12:05 PM
Ilok manager zapped orphan ilok with license crizdee macOS 0 09-23-2013 12:44 PM
iLok License Manager - LICENSE TRANSFER ERROR MESSAGE jzacks524 General Discussion 6 06-26-2013 06:43 PM
Cannot remove my iLok from an account with iLok License Manager roberts macOS 6 06-10-2013 03:28 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com