Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 11-06-2003, 03:36 PM

Default System hangs when recording stopped

Finally got my pro tools system up and running... it sounds great, but when I hit the stop button after recording, the spinning wheel of death shows up and the system is incapacitated for several minutes. I've noticed the system hangs longer and longer after each recording pass... I'm talking about 15-20 minutes . I'm brand new to pro tools and I did a search but found nothing on the DUC or in the manual, so if anyone has any input I would greatly appreciate it. My configuration is as follows:

G4 DP 1.25
OS 10.2.6
Pro Tools HD4 version 6.1
4 OWC 80 GB Firewire 400 Drives 7200 RPM

Thanks in advance
Old 11-06-2003, 04:10 PM

Default Re: System hangs when recording stopped

Could be one of your system settings or a driver incompatibility. But I would highly recommend calling Digi's tech support. They're excellent. Please try them if you haven't already. Phone: 650-731-6100
Old 11-07-2003, 12:24 AM

You mentined you "finally got your PT system up and running. Were there problems getting going? If so, you may have some other problems.

But here's some things to try.

Try recording to your internal drive. It's not the way to always work, but a system in proper shape will do it pretty well, providing you have at least 50% of your hard drive unused. For another option, I also use an internal ATA drive with great results. It's cheap and you don't have the problems of Firewire.