Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-09-2022, 02:39 PM
rwear01 rwear01 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2022
Location: Canoga Park
Posts: 1
Default Digidesign Midi I/O

Hi- I have a old Digidesign Midi I/O (blue and silver rack mount) that I'm trying to show up in Audio Midi setup in my new Mac Studio. I no longer use ProTools and was trying to find an installer for the midi I/O interface. Is this just way too old to work or is there a way to add it to Audio Midi setup manually? (seems adding an external device is always a synth). Frustrating because when I plug in the USB all the lights flash as though it wants to work!

Thanks for any help!
Robert
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-09-2022, 03:21 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,020
Default Re: Digidesign Midi I/O

Last I heard the driver never made it through the 64 bit transition. You might need to start looking for a new MIDI interface.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-09-2022, 05:19 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,723
Default Re: Digidesign Midi I/O

I will ask Avid as soon as possible (probably monday) when tech is back about this but I think that these older drivers for the gear is not working on latest 2 or more macOS versions. However a real insanely gifted friend and myself made our own drivers for our 4 old M-Audio 8x8 midi (blue with the yellow text design) units that stopped working when PT11 came and it was the same problem with 32 bit vs 64 bit but we wrote new drivers ourselves and they still run as new on our Macs today. So we are in testing phase with the drivers and a few tweaks inside for the MIDI i/o as we both paid lots for ours new and feel that they ”should” keep going if we can use them and not just as a doorstop or a book stop so IF this is as some think regarding the bit issues and no updated drivers from Avid PM me in start of october as we need a little testing with real synths before I can help when we know that this works 100%

I have had too much productions that has to be done for pretty big names this summer so I have not had time to follow up what I need to add if any to get it working as my friend has probably come some ways the past months I hope as I did a lot early spring before he took over.

I will talk to the Avid techs and ask what is the plans for MIDi i/o and post back asap / Best Christophe
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 11.3 - Yosemite - Digidesign Midi IO - can't play midi in PT Puresonics Pro Tools 11 10 03-19-2018 10:48 PM
digidesign midi i/o raye1300 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 07-16-2014 08:33 AM
FS: Digidesign MIDI $225 Phil Pelissier Buy & Sell 0 03-12-2014 04:50 PM
The new Digidesign midi I/O Everything Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 18 05-01-2002 09:35 AM
Digidesign MIDI I/O™ Baba Omar Jun Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-28-2002 01:05 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com