Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-28-2010, 07:51 PM
metalandpunk metalandpunk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 10
Default Digi 002 Rack Blue Screen of Death

what's up all? I have a big problem I just got a Digi 002 Rack worked the first day I got it but the 4th time I used it, it crashed on pro tools start up, right around the midi parallels. I try updating to the new Pro Tools 8.0.3 no luck, I reinstalled Pro Tools and nothing blue screen... it crashes at the same point. I've already done a search on here and online but I have no ends. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm using Win 7 Ultimate 2 GB RAM 1GB video card 1TB external hard drive 200 GB internal hard drive if that's any helps.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-28-2010, 08:04 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 39,322
Default Re: Digi 002 Rack Blue Screen of Death

Help us help you - what you need to know before posting!
Instructions for installation of Pro Tools for Window 7 and Beta drivers
Pro Tools 8.0.3 Windows 7 Public Beta
__________________
HP Z4 workstation, Mbox Studio
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-28-2010, 10:23 PM
ram130 ram130 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 322
Default Re: Digi 002 Rack Blue Screen of Death

Have you tried Disabling DEP?
__________________
Ramon

--

site: http://www.everythinglegit.com

Wah gwaan down deh..

System: Pro Tools LE, mbox 2, m-audio keyboard, HP DV7 laptop, Reaper 3 and alot of studios.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-29-2010, 12:00 AM
metalandpunk metalandpunk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 10
Default Re: Digi 002 Rack Blue Screen of Death

thanks Ram130 but it didn't work... I upload a video on youtube that shows my computer crashing if it helps... what I've been noticing it crashes after the plug ins are loaded...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jWNuR...layer_embedded
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-29-2010, 12:04 AM
ram130 ram130 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 322
Default Re: Digi 002 Rack Blue Screen of Death

Quote:
Originally Posted by metalandpunk View Post
thanks Ram130 but it didn't work... I upload a video on youtube that shows my computer crashing if it helps... what I've been noticing it crashes after the plug ins are loaded...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jWNuR...layer_embedded
Yikes! can you try disabling the plug ins?(put them in the unused folder)
__________________
Ramon

--

site: http://www.everythinglegit.com

Wah gwaan down deh..

System: Pro Tools LE, mbox 2, m-audio keyboard, HP DV7 laptop, Reaper 3 and alot of studios.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-29-2010, 01:56 AM
TCM's Avatar
TCM TCM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,515
Default Re: Digi 002 Rack Blue Screen of Death

There could be many causes! Faulty Ram, defective drivers, conflicting IRQs, other software etc., a complete Sandra report would help.

I had this once, when by accident some utilities for my graphics card got installed. Caused BODs every time. Check, if this is the case with your computer.

Moreover, your 2GB Ram are on the low side, I recommend at least 4GB.
In addition to that keep in mind that you need a separate hard disk for your sessions.
__________________
002R BLA mod and Mbox mini 2, PT 11.3.2,
HD Native, HD IO 16x8x8, PT 2018.7, Win 10 Pro 64, Asrock X99 Extreme6/3.1, i7-6850K, 32 GB Ram, SSD system drive, ssd audio drive
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-29-2010, 08:40 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 39,322
Default Re: Digi 002 Rack Blue Screen of Death

if you go back to my earlier reply and read the links, you will see that we need a Sandra report to offer any real help. We actually do try to help, but you have the responsibility of providing enough info
__________________
HP Z4 workstation, Mbox Studio
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-29-2010, 08:47 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,634
Default Re: Digi 002 Rack Blue Screen of Death

A big +1 to Albee's post above. We don't even know if this is a 64bit OS.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2024 HDX Hybrid
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-29-2010, 03:10 PM
Faster Faster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: LILLE/FRANCE
Posts: 1
Default Re: Digi 002 Rack Blue Screen of Death

Hi all;

I've got exactly the same problem ; here is my configuration :

- Windows 7 32bits
- Pro Tools LE 8.0
- DigiRack 002

I disabled the DEP with ram130 explanations ; however I still have the Blue Screen of Death after loading DAE files ; when launching PT 8.0.

I must precise that PT 8.0 WORKED before on the same computer ; with Microsoft XP.
Today I decided to install windows Seven ; but I had to deal with compatibily problems...

Thanks for helping us;

Hello from France
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-29-2010, 05:17 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 39,322
Default Re: Digi 002 Rack Blue Screen of Death

Okay, first off, welcome to the DUC. but now...LISTEN UP NEWBIES!!!!
We CANNOT help if you don't provide the needed info. please take the time to read the links. Its not for me....its for you!!!! Read the links, post your question with the proper info.....and please don't glom onto someone else's thread(its called thread hijacking) as it is entirely possible that your problem is unrelated to the OP(original poster's) problem. Having the SANDRA report often makes this obvious(if you included it) Sorry to rant, but we do wish to help....and we can't without the right info. Now, until you have read these links, read....don't type.

Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!
Help us help you - what you need to know before posting!
General Troubleshooting - Pro Tools LE on Windows (XP & Vista)
I included the 3rd link as it may offer some general info regarding drives and basic system tweaks.

BTW, a blue screen is often caused by outdated PACE drivers.
BTW to all 002 owners; if you are new to this, you need to be aware that all 002(mixer and rack) units before a certain serial number(which means almost all) have or will have a failure of the power harness. Its a well-known and well documented problem and Digi/Avid have been very polite about parts, regardless of the units age(but you do need to be the registered owner so do a transfer of ownership if you buy a used one).
__________________
HP Z4 workstation, Mbox Studio
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Win 7 blue screen of death scubapig Pro Tools 9 2 11-25-2010 08:00 AM
Blue screen o death 8.04 windows 7, 003 rack firmware upgrade TREBLEBLEED 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 07-24-2010 12:17 AM
Blue screen of death *S!@p&***!! dumdrummer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-23-2007 11:16 AM
Blue Screen of Death ctsrar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 07-20-2002 11:50 PM
Blue screen of death... Alex TCH 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 08-06-2000 03:20 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com