Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-29-2023, 12:05 PM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,298
Default Re: Midi problems with PT 2022.12

I was thinking maybe something to do with the keyboard channels. Recording 'any' would play through, but on playback maybe everything is on a different channel from the output selection. That wouldn't explain it working when the insert is moved though. Interesting. Anywho, check what channel your keyboard is assigning.
__________________
PT 2024.3 DP 11.31 VEP 7.x with various VIs
NI Komplete Audio 6 on HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win11
MOTU 828es ADA8200 MTP-AV on HP Z2 G4 Xeon Workstation Win11
MOTU M4 on MacBook Air M2 2023 Sonoma.4.1
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-29-2023, 02:37 PM
HowHoffman's Avatar
HowHoffman HowHoffman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 28
Default Re: Midi problems with PT 2022.12

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
No Eucon is needed for the 003
Thanks for clarifying!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-30-2023, 09:50 AM
shobud10 shobud10 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2023
Location: Canada
Posts: 15
Default Re: Midi problems with PT 2022.12

Thanks ChuckS, I'll have a look.


Dan
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-30-2023, 10:47 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 4,106
Default Re: Midi problems with PT 2022.12

I have had similar problems for years on my Windows machine with a Saffire interface, especially with RAM-hungry sample-based VIs such as Spitfire's. My workaround is to do one of two things: wait 30 seconds or so and try again, or deactivate and reactivate the VI. I do the former if I need to get up for a moment anyway.

I have noticed that the problem becomes more frequent as the complexity of the orchestration increases. In other words, it seems to be related to load.

We're both using Firewire interfaces. Aging tech. Possibly a coincidence but...
__________________
David J. Finnamore

PT 2023.12 Ultimate | Clarett+ 8Pre | macOS 13.6.3 on a MacBook Pro M1 Max
PT 2023.12 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10 latest, HP Z440 64GB
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-31-2023, 06:47 PM
Bob L's Avatar
Bob L Bob L is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 631
Default Re: Midi problems with PT 2022.12

Quote:
Originally Posted by shobud10 View Post
Hi All,
Sometimes it plays, sometimes it doesn't. Usually the first play after the session is open. Then, in order to hear the VI, I have to move the plugin to a different insert slot. Which will work for one play only.

I know sometimes PT loses the 'connection' to the VI when looking at the Instrument portion of the track, but this is not the case here.

The midi is always present on the instrument track, it just doesn't trigger the VI. Track meter shows no output.

Dan
Dan, your workaround method, moving the VI to another slot is "unique", to my limited knowledge. The most often-noted method is to open the MIDI channel dropdown and reset it, whether it looks like it needs it or not. Try that. I'm afraid this will never be fixed, so a working workaround is going to serve you well.
__________________
Bob
Without a song
The day would never end
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-03-2023, 12:18 AM
trevvahhh trevvahhh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 25
Default Re: Midi problems with PT 2022.12

I have this issue and it's dramatically worse in 2022.12 vs 2022.10 to the point where bounces have been affected and it gets hard to work.. rolling back to 2022.10 right now for this reason and it seems to be much better if not completely better. some instruments are more affected than others, east west Opus and Arturia Analog Lab do it constantly.

see if 2022.10 works better for you?

2022.12 didn't solve the bugs it seemed like it would for me re: MIDI and h264 export crashes so jumping back to .10 here for now

MacBook Pro 16 M1 Pro
OS 12.6 Monterey
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-04-2023, 05:50 AM
shobud10 shobud10 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2023
Location: Canada
Posts: 15
Default Re: Midi problems with PT 2022.12

Interesting. Maybe I'll give 2022.10 a try.
As an update to my situation, Avid support finally got back to me to arrange troubleshooting, but of course everything is behaving as it should. After weeks of trouble with midi, I now can't reproduce the issue...


Dan
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-04-2023, 06:30 AM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 2,028
Default Re: Midi problems with PT 2022.12

This bug is in the top 3 of the most frustrating bugs I run into. I have little hope it will ever be fixed because it happens so randomly that I can’t list steps to reproduce it. But there are a few things that I have noticed.

1. It happens more often when my buffer settings are set to 64 or 128.

2. It seems virtual instrument related. For example, it happens very often for me with Alicia Keys in Komplete Kontrol or Kontakt.

3. When I am having the issue, it usually starts happening an lot. If you keep hitting playback in the same spot of the timeline, it won’t play. The way I get it to start working again is by playing back in different places in the timeline.

4. When the issue is happening, it is common that the instrument giving the problem will not play after a bounce. This is scary for cases where you are doing multiple bounces because sometimes the instrument will not be included in the the following bounces unless you wake up the instrument again.

I hope it somehow gets resolved.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools HDX 2023.9
Mac Pro 7,1 3.2 GHz 16-Core Xeon W
160 GB RAM
macOS 11.7.4
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-07-2023, 08:55 PM
clarinetdelune clarinetdelune is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2023
Location: Benicia, CA
Posts: 5
Default Re: Midi problems with PT 2022.12

Same issue here. Hard to reproduce, but I've found that the only solution is to restart Pro Tools and try again. Midi notes are registered in the mix window but they aren't passing through to the virtual instrument. I've experienced this across many VSTs including Kontakt, Diva, and Omnisphere. Buffer size doesn't seem to affect things on my end.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why are MIDI notes 1-2 samples ahead? 2022.9/2022.10 gthm Pro Tools 9 06-30-2023 01:10 PM
Pro Tools Studio 2022.9 problems. Please help me Simonluka Pro Tools 16 10-20-2022 09:52 AM
Two Big Problems with 2022.4 HowHoffman Pro Tools 8 10-19-2022 07:57 AM
Mac Studio M1 Max Problems with 2022.5 Playback Engine operator macOS 7 06-24-2022 08:43 AM
Crash moving tracks to new Routing Folder in PT 2022.4 [FIXED 2022.5] Dizzi45Z Pro Tools 43 05-29-2022 03:59 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com