Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-09-2012, 12:13 PM
Majasolveig Majasolveig is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Norway
Posts: 6
Default Can't open MIDI studio in OS 10.7.4 after having installed ProTools 9.

Hi all!
I can no longer open the MIDI studio on my Mac without first having opened ProTools 9. I can not work with MIDI apart from having opened the window in ProTools first. I am using MBox Mini and a digi 002 rack. Have downloaded last drivers for both and updated to latest version of ProTools 9. This is a big problem for me as I am using my Mac for live concerts without wanting to bring a ProTools device in order to have the MIDI work. Hope someonw can help.
yours sincerely,
Maja S. K. Ratkje, Norway
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-23-2012, 01:18 AM
Majasolveig Majasolveig is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Norway
Posts: 6
Default Re: Can't open MIDI studio in OS 10.7.4 after having installed ProTools 9.

No replies... How depressing. It is very unconvenient for me to bring the ProTools gear around on gigs just to open the MIDI setup window, not needing to use ProTools. Any chance for help on this matter would be very much appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-17-2012, 12:22 PM
Modspell Modspell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Glendale CA
Posts: 6
Default Re: Can't open MIDI studio in OS 10.7.4 after having installed ProTools 9.

I am relatively new to PT and have PT 10 with an Mbox Mini. I can't open my Midi Studio at all, never have been able to. The MBox Mini does not have a midi cable port, I'm required to use USB directly to my iMac with my keyboard. It works for the most part but has limitations and connectivity issues.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-18-2012, 03:43 PM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: Can't open MIDI studio in OS 10.7.4 after having installed ProTools 9.

So to be clear:

You are going to the Applications/Utilities/Audio MIDI Setup.app

opening it

Then clicking on Window>MIDI Studio

and you get.. what? no reaction? This is only with ProTools closed, it works with ProTools open?

Since Audio MIDI Setup is a part of the operating system, this kind of problem can be very hard to fix.

My advice would be to:

backup anything/everything important

clean uninstall Protools

Reinstall the 10.7.4 COMBO update (you must download this from Apple, it is NOT the same thing as Software update)

Run Disk Utility and repair permissions

Reinstall Protools and repair permissions again
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MIDI Studio won't open Sparky1971 Pro Tools 11 4 10-02-2013 04:25 AM
Midi Studio Wont Open Dulu Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 12 12-27-2012 12:57 AM
Installed Logic Studio & now ProTools won't open.... woodbeatz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-02-2008 08:00 AM
Unable to open Midi Studio Setup yvan Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 08-25-2005 03:55 PM
I can't open the MIDI studio setup moiblest3 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 08-24-2005 10:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:53 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com