Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-24-2007, 08:11 AM
Bermaster Bermaster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: MA
Posts: 220
Default metering?

I have started to experiement with EQ and compression and I want a way to actually monitor the db levels of what I am doing. Should I just be using something like the free Bomb Factory meter plugin? If, what setting? Also, how do I handle calibration?

Thanks
__________________
Brian Berman
www.brian-berman.com

Digi 002, Pro Tools LE 7
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-24-2007, 09:41 AM
sw rec sw rec is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,844
Default Re: metering?

Just be sure that under "options" you de-select "prefader metering"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-24-2007, 11:01 AM
Bermaster Bermaster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: MA
Posts: 220
Default Re: metering?

Does anyone know what this can't be done directly within Pro Tools, without using an RTAS plugin? I am not complaining that you can't, I am just curious because I thought it was important. Basically, I am sure there is a good reason for it, so I want to know what that reason is.

__________________
Brian Berman
www.brian-berman.com

Digi 002, Pro Tools LE 7
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-24-2007, 11:36 AM
imagin imagin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 64
Default Re: metering?

Hello,

what exactly do you want to meter? dbu dbV dbspl dbL ? not forgetting that the digital 0 dbu is about 20dbu higher than analogue!

A complicated subject your getting into
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-24-2007, 01:15 PM
Bermaster Bermaster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: MA
Posts: 220
Default Re: metering?

I suppose what I want to do is verify my mixes are as loud as they can be. As far as what I what type of db I am interested in, I am not sure.
__________________
Brian Berman
www.brian-berman.com

Digi 002, Pro Tools LE 7
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-25-2007, 04:24 AM
imagin imagin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 64
Default Re: metering?

What you need to look up is the difference between peak level and average level, thats what gives you your apparent "loudness", this is where compressors come in. 120 dbL for 20ms wont appear as loud as 80 dpL for 1s.

Heres a free metering tool that might help you.

http://www.sonalksis.com/index.php?d...&section_id=14

Dowload "Sonalksis FreeG (Full version free download) v1.08"
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-28-2007, 02:20 PM
imagin imagin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 64
Default Re: metering?

Hello again,

I just started reading this thread and thought of you question.

http://recforums.prosoundweb.com/ind...t/15038/13122/

I think dbfs is the right term
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Metering? Creap 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 10-17-2009 10:53 AM
Metering Soundtrack2life 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 07-31-2008 07:20 AM
Metering?? ThomasPMusic VENUE Live Sound Systems 10 03-31-2008 01:36 PM
Pre-Fader Metering vs Post-Fader Metering teacherman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 01-29-2008 07:33 PM
Metering Nika Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 07-28-2003 09:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:47 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com