Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-13-2006, 08:10 PM
Roq_it Roq_it is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 37
Default McDSP - anyone using these plugs?

Hello all,
Does anyone use McDSP plugs, specifically G Channe Native l? Any thoughts on the simulation quality for desktops? Neve, SSL ect.....
Pro Tools Le 7.1 002R
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-13-2006, 10:19 PM
bigbubbaj bigbubbaj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 1,457
Default Re: McDSP - anyone using these plugs?

I have Analog channel and use it all the time.

They make great plugins and have the best customer service of any plug in company bar none.
__________________
5198 Studios
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-15-2006, 05:23 AM
Roq_it Roq_it is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 37
Default Re: McDSP - anyone using these plugs?

Oh yeah!! I have been using their plugs for several years now, however I have just upgraded and purchased all plugs including the
G Channel. So far I have been dissapointed with this piece, maybe I am not applying it correctly or to its full potential. So I thought I would check to see if others have, use it, and maybe there is something I could learn to use it to the full potential. Any input or ideas are welcome!!!

Thanks
Art

I use the AC - CB - FB - MC2000 on almost every track and love love love love them!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-15-2006, 06:19 AM
Jim Roberts Jim Roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Location: Broomfield, Colorado, USA
Posts: 237
Default Re: McDSP - anyone using these plugs?

I've been using McDSP plugins since they were introduced.

Specifically you should check out AC1 and AC2, but I also use FB, CB and the MC2000.

I do not own G Channel but plan to demo it.
__________________
Jim Roberts
www.musicandvideo.tv
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-16-2006, 06:12 PM
networker networker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: LA
Posts: 125
Default Re: McDSP - anyone using these plugs?

I had the Emerald package minus the 4000 and sold it on Ebay. I just wasn't able to get it to work for me even though I tried it repeatedly. It almost worked...Filterbank and Compressorbank were ok...JUST ok. I absolutely did not ever get results that I liked from the G Channel.
One side issue: In Compressorbank you can call up specific plugs that emulate specific and spelled out units such as a DBX, etc, but I could never find specific EQ's emulations in Filterbank which was frustrating since they advertise that it can be "every EQ ever made...".

Well, maybe so but it would have been nice if I could have found specific examples.

(I do, of course, realize that I may have just been unable to find something right in front of me...)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-28-2006, 10:59 AM
mnoxious mnoxious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 160
Default Re: McDSP - anyone using these plugs?

I use AC1, AC2, CB, FB, and MC2000 and I couldn't be happier. Great for mixing and mastering in the box.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-30-2006, 05:18 AM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,785
Default Re: McDSP - anyone using these plugs?

I have McDSP FilterBank, CompressorBank and Channel G.
I use them mostlly as TDM plug-ins but there is no sonic difference (on my opinion) if I use them as RTAS.
FilterBank - is just great sounding, transparent yet versitile EQ. It does take time to get use to it. But there is a reason for this. Sinse they are very phase coherent and work more like analog gear (you cannot have digital clipping with those EQ), you'll need to use it "by the book" like.
When first completed project I did, with McDSP I wanted to compare it to my previous projects where I used allot of Renaisance EQ5 - which were my favorite. The difference was owesom! Renaisance sounded now digitally harsh, colouring and the worst - smearing. Well I have no problem with colouring, cause this is what they are designed for, but I saw how much definition I really missed with them!
Filterbank is really different by its character. It's very accurate in the curves of signal processing. It's clean and feel like real analog stuff.

CompressorBank. I can write about the same positive things I wrote about FB plus one important issue.
If you use CB3 compressot with prefiltering and postfiltering, you might find yourself not using any EQ in the chain at all - just this compressor!
You can adjust a Q factor and gain of the filters. Or you can use dynamic or static EQ which will trigger attack and release time of the compressor. It's like a channel strip without too many controls. Again, compessor is very clean and DSP/CPU light.

Channel G. It makes your mix big! And there is nothing psychilogical here. People without any knowledge in audio noticed the difference. Put it on your master busses and you'll be surprised!
It's 5.1 surround compatible. It's a great channel strip, which is compareable to Waves SSL 4000.
But it's very light on the processor, DSP as well.

Buttom line. There are few engineers who don't like McDSP. But this is because they don't have time or patience to learn how to use them. You can get outstanding sonic results with these plugs.
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2024.3 Ultimate ● macOS Ventura 13.6.3
MacPro 7.1 (2019) 3.2GHz Intel Xeon W 16-Core ● 96 GB RAM
MTRX Studio + DADman 5.7.0.1 + MOM ● Sync HD ● AJA Kona LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
McDSP is going to do AU versions of plugs digidesigner Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 01-08-2010 03:02 AM
which MCDSP plugs? cary chilton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 02-11-2007 06:41 AM
MCDSP native plugs! cary chilton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 01-30-2007 07:10 AM
McDSP Plugs Now Available for Windows XP!!!!!!!!!! gonzo99 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-15-2005 11:15 PM
Mcdsp plugs ajazzie 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 16 06-23-2002 04:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com