Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-27-2003, 10:48 PM
gg gg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 32
Default Firewire Cable Length

Hello All,

I'm planning on moving my computer into a different room than my 002. What is the maximum distance I can safely run a firewire cable? Has anyone done this and what kind of problems might one expect?

Thanks,

Gary
__________________
D950 3400 Mhz
Ram 3072 Mb
Digi 002
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-28-2003, 02:16 AM
Stone Knife Stone Knife is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Looneyland, Washington State
Posts: 3,027
Default Re: Firewire Cable Length

IEEE 1394 spec says 5 meters max.

Problems with lengths exceeding 5 meters include halitosis, fuzzy vision, and earthquakes.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-28-2003, 10:54 AM
gg gg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 32
Default Re: Firewire Cable Length

Thanks Stone,

I've already got the halitosis and the fuzzy vision, the earthquake will be a new experience!

5 meters should just about do it.

Gary

__________________
D950 3400 Mhz
Ram 3072 Mb
Digi 002
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-28-2003, 11:26 AM
Allen Hallada Allen Hallada is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sun Valley, ID
Posts: 6,686
Default Re: Firewire Cable Length

Quote:
Thanks Stone,

I've already got the halitosis and the fuzzy vision, the earthquake will be a new experience!

5 meters should just about do it.

Gary


Speaking of earthquakes, I got to experience my first one here in CA. Loved it. Beats the [bleep] out of those midwest tornadoes. Right in the middle of a 6.5 I said, "Is this an earthquake? Cool!"
Hea hea

Allen
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-28-2003, 11:38 AM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: Firewire Cable Length

There were a few people who didn't think it was so cool...
I've been here about 20 years, and every earthquake is still a bit disconcerting.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Firewire cable length Legion6789 Pro Tools 9 13 09-02-2011 02:30 PM
firewire cable length drmmrboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 01-07-2007 11:41 AM
firewire cable length Charlie Natzke Tips & Tricks 6 07-19-2004 12:06 PM
FireWire cable length thewolffman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 03-29-2004 11:47 PM
Firewire Cable length? Michael Carpenter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-16-2003 12:52 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:44 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com