Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-02-2017, 10:15 AM
subwoof subwoof is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Saratoga Springs Utah
Posts: 542
Default 7.1 and XMon?

Anyone have a good method for doing a 7.1 mix using the XMon?
__________________
Michael McDonough, M.P.S.E.
Michael McDonough Sound Design
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-09-2017, 02:14 PM
lucienpalmer lucienpalmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 718
Default Re: 7.1 and XMon?

Quote:
Originally Posted by subwoof View Post
Anyone have a good method for doing a 7.1 mix using the XMon?
XMon is compatible with 7.1 monitoring. Is that what you are asking? It has several 7.1 (8cn) inputs and outputs for switch the source and destinations.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, HDX3 & MTRX + HD MADI
7,1 MacPro, 3.2GHz 16-core, OSX 10.15
S6 M40 48-5, panners, MPM,Dolby Atmos RMU
AJA Kona LHi, Sync HD
www.ToolshedAudioPost.com
www.TheToolshedStudio.com
Certified for Dolby Atmos Home Entertainment
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-09-2017, 04:31 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,612
Default Re: 7.1 and XMon?

But only with D Control, not D Command if I remember correctly.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-09-2017, 04:59 PM
lucienpalmer lucienpalmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 718
Default Re: 7.1 and XMon?

True, but technically you don't need a console to run it. The XMon is controlled by the mac/pc app.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, HDX3 & MTRX + HD MADI
7,1 MacPro, 3.2GHz 16-core, OSX 10.15
S6 M40 48-5, panners, MPM,Dolby Atmos RMU
AJA Kona LHi, Sync HD
www.ToolshedAudioPost.com
www.TheToolshedStudio.com
Certified for Dolby Atmos Home Entertainment
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-14-2017, 06:41 AM
mixboy bob mixboy bob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 564
Default Re: 7.1 and XMon?

I didn't know there was a standalone app... do you have a link, by chance?

Thanks!

Rob B
aka mixboy
__________________
http://www.robburrell.com
PTHD Ultimate 2020.BETA/2019 Mac Pro 3.2ghz 16-core/96GB RAM/Aja Kona LHi/Akitio Thunder 3 Quad Mini with 4TB SSD drives/Focusrite 16Line/UAD-2 Octo PCIe/32 Channel S1/Dock with (5) 2019 Amazon Fire HD 10 Tablets/XMON//11.1.4 Dolby Atmos Setup
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-14-2017, 07:43 AM
lucienpalmer lucienpalmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 718
Default Re: 7.1 and XMon?

I found this with a quick Google search. This should be it:

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...ware-for-EUCON

It has to be connected to the computer via MIDI. If you don't already have something, any $5 USB-to-MIDI whip should work.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, HDX3 & MTRX + HD MADI
7,1 MacPro, 3.2GHz 16-core, OSX 10.15
S6 M40 48-5, panners, MPM,Dolby Atmos RMU
AJA Kona LHi, Sync HD
www.ToolshedAudioPost.com
www.TheToolshedStudio.com
Certified for Dolby Atmos Home Entertainment
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old XMon on S6? paulo m Avid S4/S6 15 08-20-2014 04:22 AM
Wtb - xmon Mike Landolt Buy & Sell 1 07-26-2014 06:57 PM
Xmon mod?? mtung ICON & C|24 0 10-01-2009 06:16 AM
Xmon?? bstroner ICON & C|24 5 04-01-2009 06:47 PM
XMON tstemland ICON & C|24 2 03-23-2006 03:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com