Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-03-2010, 07:52 AM
wonderland wonderland is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Stourbridge U.K
Posts: 18
Default Pro tools suddenly slow!

Has anyone got any idea why my system should run slow for no apparent reason!
Running PT8.0.1
Eleven rack
External drive running via s400
I mac Osx 10.5.8
Clocking spdif from ISA one @48k
Buffer size etc all at normal 512 as they have been for the last year.

Has run perfectly for the last year then as of yesterday started to get play back errors of cpu usage overload, putting into record is taking 10 seconds to get going then crashing.
Really frustrated, any ideas?
I was messing about yesterday connecting my VS2480 to see how it worked as a control surface, As it happens it was pretty useless so i have set everything back, but now my system is full of problems. Help please!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-03-2010, 09:34 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,532
Default Re: Pro tools suddenly slow!

So did this slowdown happen AFTER the episode with the Roland? Do you have automatic updates and an internet connection? How full is your recording drive(should try to keep 20-30% of free space on it). Do you have record allocation(preferences) set for 'use all"? Try it set to 10-15 minutes, unless you have a project that goes long.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-03-2010, 09:48 AM
wonderland wonderland is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Stourbridge U.K
Posts: 18
Default Re: Pro tools suddenly slow!

Thanks, Im just downloading the 8.0.4 update so when that's finished I will check these things!. Yes it did happen after the Roland episode and I do already know that the recording drive is about 70% free as i checked it earlier, will look into the other things though and ask for more help if I'm still in trouble. Cheers from the Uk.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-03-2010, 10:23 AM
wonderland wonderland is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Stourbridge U.K
Posts: 18
Default Re: Pro tools suddenly slow!

Ok. gone through a Hd disk repair on the mac, Updated to PT8.0.4, checked and changed the record allocation (and changed it back again to 'use all') Still same problem. Getting 10 seconds of audio before a CPU error message and going into record is really slow, (takes about 10 seconds to start once selected) does any one have any other idea's?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-02-2010, 04:01 PM
Premo Premo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 585
Default Re: Pro tools suddenly slow!

If you disconnect your internet connection, airport off, ethernet inactivated from network preferences, or ethernet cable unplugged completely, does Pro Tools speed up?

Theres been a few duc post about internet connectivity type problems causing Pro Tools to slow down.

Also make sure Spotlight Indexing is disabled for all drives:
http://avid.custkb.com/avid/app/self...p?DocId=349731
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
edit and trans windows suddenly slow bleach macOS 0 12-30-2011 08:59 AM
Pro Tools MP 8.0.5 is suddenly annoyingly slow philmont702a Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 10-26-2011 04:54 PM
Suddenly slow save times digidesigner Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 3 09-16-2011 04:16 AM
session suddenly running extremely slow jonahjonahjonah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-16-2006 08:32 PM
Suddenly Slow Up Late Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 11-03-2002 02:46 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com