Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | First Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-05-2022, 06:44 PM
Brightbelt's Avatar
Brightbelt Brightbelt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SAVANNAH, GA
Posts: 39
Default "Audio Deadline Not Met"

Hello and Seasons' Greetings,
Let me give my stats - they're an ironic part of all this.

I am on an iMac Pro (2017), with:
-2.3 Ghz 18-Core Intel Xeon W.
-256 GB DDR4 Memory (yes you read that right, 256)
-Radeon Pro Vega 64X 16 GB Graphics Card

I use an Apollo Quad 2 for UA plugins PLUS a DSP Accelerator - the highest level you can get.

With ALL THAT, I am frequently getting a screeching halt in the middle of playback and I get a window (I've attached a screenshot) that says: "Audio Deadline was not met. Check 'Electric Guitar' (or whatever track it chooses to blame)

If I go into getting 'more info" and I HAVE done that, it tells me to enter Pro Tools pressing shift (I think?) - whatever it is, it starts Pro Tools with all plugins deactivated. I am then supposed to one by one check which plugin is the culprit. I am also able to access the CPU usage.

For one, the CPU usage which should be a problem? It's laughable how low it is. And it should be given all of my gear.

I have yet to find a consistent plugin to point to and blame. It may even shift tracks/plugins to whatever it finds offensive at the moment.

And the Project I am on now? It's 2 instruments, a lead vocal and 2 Background vocals. And that's all and I am getting the window even MORE on this project.

I really appreciate any assistance. My apologies for my flippant attitude, but given the higher quality I've chosen for my computer, (I know it's old hat now maybe), I should not be having these issues.

Frank B.
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg B147D836-0DC4-4642-AAD1-EFF6A4EAC0D6_4_5005_c.jpeg (43.3 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-05-2022, 09:57 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,763
Default Re: "Audio Deadline Not Met"

Did you try the suggestions to increase the buffer size or turn off the low buffer performance optimization?
__________________
James Cadwallader

Mac Studio, 64GB RAM, 1 TB SSD, Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, OWC drive dock, Mac OS Monterey 12.6.2

Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.12, HD Native, Focusrite Red 8Pre

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-06-2022, 10:20 AM
Brightbelt's Avatar
Brightbelt Brightbelt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SAVANNAH, GA
Posts: 39
Default Re: "Audio Deadline Not Met"

I meant to mention that - YES, the buffer size is set to 1024. It still balks mid-song and comes to a screeching halt.

After that, if I try to just click 'play' again, sometimes it works ok. Other times, I hear a shredded noise that sounds like wires.

So then I have to fully back out of Pro Tools and restart it. That always (so far) resets it so that I am back to square.

Many Thanks for replying....
Frank B.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-06-2022, 10:23 AM
Brightbelt's Avatar
Brightbelt Brightbelt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SAVANNAH, GA
Posts: 39
Default Re: "Audio Deadline Not Met"

I did find a similar post by a Google search. In that thread, the person said that Avid said it was Apple's issue and not theirs.

Here's the link to that thread
https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=418941
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Audio Engine Play Startup Deadline Was Missed"... Johnjohnjohn Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 07-07-2009 01:05 PM
"audio engine plays starup deadline was missed" message in pt 8 nachonieto 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 05-31-2009 03:34 AM
Digi: update on "missed audio engine deadline"? H-man 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-29-2009 12:20 PM
Digi: update on "missed audio engine startup deadline" H-man 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-05-2009 12:54 PM
"Audio engine play start deadline was missed." Huh? mixboy bob Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 01-09-2009 12:56 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com