Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12-03-2022, 12:39 AM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,810
Default Mac Ventura Compatibility

‘Whatever it shipped with’ refers to the model not your specific machine.

IOW - when the Mac Studio was released in March, it shipped with macOS 12.3 (Monterey). Current models will ship with a version of Ventura. Current models can be downgraded to macOS 12.3.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-03-2022, 11:27 AM
GuitarSlinger GuitarSlinger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 51
Default Re: Mac Ventura Compatibility

I talked with Apple. They said the only way to know what OS it was built with is to erase it and, on boot up, go into the set up and you can see which it says.

If it says Ventura, you're out of luck. No downgrade.

If it says Monterey, you can downgrade to that using a bootable external drive. He sent me instructions.

Fortunately, I was able to get past the issue I was having without resorting to this. May you have similar good fortune.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-03-2022, 02:46 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,529
Default Re: Mac Ventura Compatibility

First going to www.everymac.com and finding out what was the macOS your system originally shipped from factory, after that it is just a matter of whether Apple has made the downgrade straight-forward or more difficult. But it can be done from that version to latest supported (and also beyond with some tricks).
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-03-2022, 03:17 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,905
Default Re: Mac Ventura Compatibility

Quote:
Originally Posted by GuitarSlinger View Post
I talked with Apple. They said the only way to know what OS it was built with is to erase it and, on boot up, go into the set up and you can see which it says.
If it says Ventura, you're out of luck. No downgrade.
This is what I'd expect from a apple shop assistant nowadays, but it's wrong. If you're connected to the internet and install from recovery, you'll get the most current version. Only way to install a different version is with a bootable installer disk with the version you want.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini M1, 16GB RAM. 512GBinternal(3000MB/s),2TB(1300MB/s),2TB(350MB/s)
MacOS 11.6.8. PT 2020.12.1 (2022.12 beta for testing)
Topping D50 DAC, Dynaudio BM6p, 2 x Artist Mix, SSL UC1, EuControl on iPad.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-03-2022, 03:43 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,310
Default Re: Mac Ventura Compatibility

Quote:
Originally Posted by GuitarSlinger View Post
I talked with Apple.


And yet the actual people that know what they are talking about are here on DUC.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-07-2022, 09:00 AM
GuitarSlinger GuitarSlinger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 51
Default Re: Mac Ventura Compatibility

Yes and be wary of contacting Avid about any problem you're having while using Ventura. They will tell you to downgrade when this may not solve anything. See my other recent posts.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-07-2022, 12:08 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,876
Default Re: Mac Ventura Compatibility

Quote:
Originally Posted by GuitarSlinger View Post
Yes and be wary of contacting Avid about any problem you're having while using Ventura. They will tell you to downgrade when this may not solve anything. See my other recent posts.
Troubleshooting always includes some steps which ultimately prove ineffective, but there's no way to accurately predict whether they will, or will not, fix the issue unless you try, at least that's the case with certain steps. I agree that an OS downgrade sounds drastic and awful, but it might have been the next logical step in the process. I doubt they'd have mentioned it if it didn't at least have the potential for being the remedy.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-07-2022, 12:12 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,876
Default Re: Mac Ventura Compatibility

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
First going to www.everymac.com and finding out what was the macOS your system originally shipped from factory
I've used them for other things but never to check on the original OS. Do they account for the fact that some models will switch their OS mid-cycle by checking specific serial numbers?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-07-2022, 12:16 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,529
Default Re: Mac Ventura Compatibility

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Lambert View Post
I've used them for other things but never to check on the original OS. Do they account for the fact that some models will switch their OS mid-cycle by checking specific serial numbers?
Don't know. They have date when specific model was first released
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-07-2022, 12:16 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,905
Default Re: Mac Ventura Compatibility

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Lambert View Post
I've used them for other things but never to check on the original OS. Do they account for the fact that some models will switch their OS mid-cycle by checking specific serial numbers?
In my experience, yes. Everymac.com is very solid. they know their stuff.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini M1, 16GB RAM. 512GBinternal(3000MB/s),2TB(1300MB/s),2TB(350MB/s)
MacOS 11.6.8. PT 2020.12.1 (2022.12 beta for testing)
Topping D50 DAC, Dynaudio BM6p, 2 x Artist Mix, SSL UC1, EuControl on iPad.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
macOS Ventura 13.0 - Anyone tried it (or a beta)? alzakent Pro Tools 45 01-06-2023 01:12 AM
Pro Tools Compatibility with macOS 13 Ventura newcens Pro Tools 13 12-02-2022 12:41 PM
MacOS Ventura LDS macOS 7 09-15-2022 03:30 PM
PT 8 HD/PT9 Compatibility, 10.6.5 compatibility, OMF Logic9/PT9, iLok upgrade benosullivan Pro Tools 9 2 11-17-2010 12:05 PM
AMD 64 compatibility with PT 6.7 JasonGough 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 03-16-2005 04:56 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com