Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-15-2013, 05:03 PM
roofus roofus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Default Error: Assertion line 621

I just recently installed PT10 and in trying to use it for the first time I get an error that states "Could not complete your request because Assertion in "..\..\Sys\Win32\Sys_FileLocWin32.cpp" Line 621.

Can anyone tell me how to fix this? I've installed PT10 on a separate HDD than windows, and I'm wondering if that's the problem.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-15-2013, 06:13 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,808
Default Re: Error: Assertion line 621

Probably. Pro tools software needs to be installed on the C: drive. You create and save your sessions to their own drive.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-15-2013, 08:54 PM
notedmusic notedmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California, near LA
Posts: 405
Default Re: Error: Assertion line 621

I had this issue with Comodo firewall installed, make sure that your firewalls/AV/ ect. don't conflict. I assume you already optimized?
__________________
Composer/Sound Designer

Pro Tools 11 HD, 64Gb ram, 12tb SSD, 1909
HD Omni/Thunderbolt Native
A bucketload of libraries
www.Reverbnation.com/jedediahjenk
www.soundcloud.com/jedediahjenk
notedmusic.wix.com/jedediahjenk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-16-2013, 08:23 PM
roofus roofus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Default Re: Error: Assertion line 621

What do you mean by optimized? This is the first time I've used DAW software on a computer; I've been using Roland workstations for the last 15 years.

EDIT: The computer has only been connected to the internet to download drivers/update win7. I haven't downloaded any extraneous programs, etc (except adobe reader).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-17-2013, 01:32 PM
roofus roofus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Default Re: Error: Assertion line 621

SOLVED. I uninstalled and re-installed on the C: drive. Everything worked perfectly. I wasn't aware that you could have the program files on one drive and record to a separate drive.

Thank you to all those who responded!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Assertion Error in... Line 476 Rowas 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-14-2012 09:51 AM
assertion/line 33 error! DAMNBABY 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-14-2008 03:56 PM
Assertion Error Line 164, but I've done everything markimola 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-25-2006 07:26 AM
Assertion error in line 478? Frank Kruse Post - Surround - Video 3 03-02-2006 02:03 PM
Mix Plus 6.4.1 Assertion error in line 894 AlliedPost Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-30-2004 11:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:12 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com