Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-29-2021, 10:56 AM
bruceup bruceup is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Philly
Posts: 290
Default USB Mic and PT HD 11.3.2

I'm an HDX system user who is apparently out of his league trying to set up PT HD 11.3.2 on a Mac Mini running Mavericks with a Rode NT-USB mic for a colleague (11.3.2 HD driver is also installed). Launching and playback is fine, but I can't get PT to activate an input for (or recognize) the USB mic. All i/o input tabs are grayed out, and while I can add paths they won't activate. Computer itself recognizes the mic, but PT won't let it in. I'm using an Aggregate I/O but that doesn't seem to help (and I tried using built-in Output and the computer-recognized usb mic with the same results). I'm using legacy software and OS on purpose in this case, updating not an option. Anybody?
__________________
a $120k business degree will get you a job on Wall Street - a $120k Berklee degree will get you a job on Beale Street...

Last edited by bruceup; 09-29-2021 at 05:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-01-2021, 08:22 AM
bruceup bruceup is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Philly
Posts: 290
Default Re: USB Mic and PT HD 11.3.2

Have I posted this in the wrong place? If anybody has any suggestions on where I should stick it please advise (keep it clean).
__________________
a $120k business degree will get you a job on Wall Street - a $120k Berklee degree will get you a job on Beale Street...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-01-2021, 09:50 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,042
Default Re: USB Mic and PT HD 11.3.2

I think there are several reasons you've had no replies to this.
We are not as many as we used to, active on the DUC anymore.
PT11 HD using a usb mic? I never heard of it, and the usb device would be using Coreaudio, which would not be able to stream anything to the HD engine.
And OSX 10.8 is what, ten years old now? Not many people have things like this very fresh in their heads anymore.


Bottom line, I think it simply can't be done, routing a usb mic into PT11HD.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6, Dynaudio BM6's, Command|8, SSL UC1, iPad w/EuControl.
Pro Tools 2020.11.0.157, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-01-2021, 11:57 AM
bruceup bruceup is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Philly
Posts: 290
Default Re: USB Mic and PT HD 11.3.2

Thanks for your reply Ben. PT11HD wants to see an interface. This is what happens when you have spare parts/computers and old software auths hanging around.
__________________
a $120k business degree will get you a job on Wall Street - a $120k Berklee degree will get you a job on Beale Street...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-01-2021, 12:17 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,717
Default Re: USB Mic and PT HD 11.3.2

I wonder if Source-Nexus or Rogue Amoeba's Loopback could route the signal so PT would see it?
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-01-2021, 12:35 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,042
Default Re: USB Mic and PT HD 11.3.2

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
I wonder if Source-Nexus or Rogue Amoeba's Loopback could route the signal so PT would see it?
You can wonder, but I'm pretty shure that there is no way to make the HD engine talk to Coreaudio or otherwayaround. Definitely not with a decade old version of PT.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6, Dynaudio BM6's, Command|8, SSL UC1, iPad w/EuControl.
Pro Tools 2020.11.0.157, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-01-2021, 04:03 PM
bruceup bruceup is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Philly
Posts: 290
Default Re: USB Mic and PT HD 11.3.2

Believe it or not I finally got it to work. For reasons known only to this old software, it wanted me to add an additional Aggregate I/O (in addition to the default AI/O already there). When I did that it showed up as an option in the Playback Engine drop down menu (where it didn't appear before), and suddenly my PT I/O was active. Strange, but it works. Thank you both for your answers, I'll go back to my HDX PT 2019 world now.
__________________
a $120k business degree will get you a job on Wall Street - a $120k Berklee degree will get you a job on Beale Street...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com