Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-02-2021, 12:13 AM
Philharmonic7 Philharmonic7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 98
Default Dolby Atmos production suite alternative

Hey all,

I have an HP z840 workstation and was curious if there’s an alternative way to work on Atmos since DAPS is only Mac compatible. I work in studios that are all Mac based and even know colleagues of mine that uses a 2018 Mac mini and mixes in Atmos with DAPS installed without the need of another computer.

Now I know you can have the Dolby Atmos mastering suite running on a different computer, but I always seen it as Pro Tools on a Mac and DAMS on a PC/Mac. Never seen it in a reverse role. Also, getting another dedicated computer along with DAMS will be quite pricey.

I was thinking of getting a Mac mini and installing DAPS in it but I’m unsure if that will work with my PC. Any ideas folks or suggestions of an efficient workflow?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-03-2021, 05:55 PM
Philharmonic7 Philharmonic7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 98
Default Re: Dolby Atmos production suite alternative

Quote:
Originally Posted by Philharmonic7 View Post
Hey all,

I have an HP z840 workstation and was curious if there’s an alternative way to work on Atmos since DAPS is only Mac compatible. I work in studios that are all Mac based and even know colleagues of mine that uses a 2018 Mac mini and mixes in Atmos with DAPS installed without the need of another computer.

Now I know you can have the Dolby Atmos mastering suite running on a different computer, but I always seen it as Pro Tools on a Mac and DAMS on a PC/Mac. Never seen it in a reverse role. Also, getting another dedicated computer along with DAMS will be quite pricey.

I was thinking of getting a Mac mini and installing DAPS in it but I’m unsure if that will work with my PC. Any ideas folks or suggestions of an efficient workflow?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Anyone???


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-03-2021, 09:58 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,967
Default Re: Dolby Atmos production suite alternative

Man, I wish.

I have a secondary MacBook Pro that I can run DAPS on. So far Dolby has made no indication that they will release DAPS for Windows. Which is weird because their DAMS system runs only on Windows.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Protools vanilla 2021.7
2018 MacBook Pro: six-core i9, 32GB, 1TB, Catalina / HD|Native-TB / Protools Ultimate 2021.7, DAPS, L-ISA Studio

Home/mobile: Focusrite Red 8Pre / Clarett 4Pre / DVS
Road/hotel: Roland OctaCaputre / Apogee One
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-03-2021, 10:21 PM
Philharmonic7 Philharmonic7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 98
Default Re: Dolby Atmos production suite alternative

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCBigler View Post
Man, I wish.

I have a secondary MacBook Pro that I can run DAPS on. So far Dolby has made no indication that they will release DAPS for Windows. Which is weird because their DAMS system runs only on Windows.

I know right. There’s got to be a good reason why Dolby can’t implement DAPS with windows. It’s quite annoying actually.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-04-2021, 10:24 AM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,456
Default Re: Dolby Atmos production suite alternative

My understanding is that it's because Apple's built-in drivers support it while Microsoft's don't, at least yet. Yamaha wrote their own Windoze drivers for Nuewindo.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-07-2021, 02:47 PM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,946
Default Re: Dolby Atmos production suite alternative

Quote:
Originally Posted by Philharmonic7 View Post
I know right. There’s got to be a good reason why Dolby can’t implement DAPS with windows. It’s quite annoying actually.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
100% Totally annoying.
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dolby Atmos Production Suite Serge Perron Buy & Sell 0 09-18-2021 02:59 PM
FS: Dolby Atmos Production Suite Serge Perron Buy & Sell 1 08-29-2021 07:05 PM
Dolby Atmos Production Suite on Westmere 5,1 Stevo499 Post - Surround - Video 1 06-05-2020 08:36 AM
Dolby Atmos Production Suite garnoil Post - Surround - Video 2 03-13-2019 09:34 AM
Dolby Atmos Production Suite subhuffer Post - Surround - Video 20 03-10-2019 07:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:34 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com