Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S4/S6

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-06-2021, 12:25 PM
ScottyD ScottyD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: NYC
Posts: 27
Default Moving from XMON / S6 to MTRX... Talkback mic question

Going from an S6 / XMON setup and migrating to a MTRX, what is the best method to hook up a talkback mic for the S6 into the MTRX? The XMON had TB input. MTRX doesn't appear to work in the same manner. Hindsight 20/20 I didn't provision for a Mic Pre A/D card for the MTRX. So I think the 2nd best option might be to use an external mic pre in-line between the mic and an available line input on the MTRX. Would that make sense? Or is there a different option?

TIA,
Scotty
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-06-2021, 01:31 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,432
Default Re: Moving from XMON / S6 to MTRX... Talkback mic question

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottyD View Post
best option might be to use an external mic pre in-line between the mic and an available line input on the MTRX.
This. With a dynamic mic it doesn't need much and you just define what is the input line for TB is in DADman.

We use a cheap MOTU (that is attached to the mix computer for system sounds.) 6 channels are 5.1 defined as a input for computer system sounds in DADman. 1 channel is a pass through of the MOTU mic pre for TB. The MOTU goes out analogue to a MADI D/A A/D (SPL Madison) that is hooked to the MTRX Madi input. So none of the MTRX analogue I/O is used.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2021.10, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniS1 x 2, FireHD x 2, Dock, iPad Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-08-2021, 10:20 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,545
Default Re: Moving from XMON / S6 to MTRX... Talkback mic question

Yes, indeed, the Settings > Monitor Profile > Talkback assignment can be anything analog or digital which is populated into the MTRX frame. Here's one of many other options that would work for this by leveraging a Dante based Mic pre ->
https://studio-tech.com/products/m5205/

best,

Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mtrx talkback latch and momentary Markk Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 14 07-01-2021 01:06 PM
S6 Talkback>MTRX>Source connect DHS Avid S4/S6 1 11-25-2019 05:08 PM
Monitor Knob - Cut Assignment like XMON but now for MTRX innenhofstudios Avid S4/S6 10 05-17-2018 04:23 AM
Xmon, listen mic and talkback amolin Avid S4/S6 13 06-16-2016 08:22 PM
System 5MC and XMON Talkback Mic Help Bear Jam System 5 6 11-30-2012 11:15 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:57 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com