Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-11-2010, 01:08 PM
spinsah spinsah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default PT9 and MP3 Encoding question

Good day everyone,

I see that MP3 exporting is now included with Pro Tools 9 instead of a paid option - I occasionally have to export my files as 320k MP3's and have using the 'paid' option from PT8, but always found the options given were quite limited compared to programs like Logic, etc. (you can only choose the genre from a drop-down menu instead of typing your own, can't put in disc numbers, more more advanced details, etc).

I was hoping someone out there with PT9 can confirm whether or not the MP3 export options are exactly the same as PT8, or whether they've (FINALLY) been upgraded.

Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-11-2010, 01:11 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: PT9 and MP3 Encoding question

There has been no change as far as I'm aware.
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-11-2010, 01:13 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,677
Default Re: PT9 and MP3 Encoding question

Quote:
Originally Posted by spinsah View Post
Good day everyone,

I see that MP3 exporting is now included with Pro Tools 9 instead of a paid option - I occasionally have to export my files as 320k MP3's and have using the 'paid' option from PT8, but always found the options given were quite limited compared to programs like Logic, etc. (you can only choose the genre from a drop-down menu instead of typing your own, can't put in disc numbers, more more advanced details, etc).

I was hoping someone out there with PT9 can confirm whether or not the MP3 export options are exactly the same as PT8, or whether they've (FINALLY) been upgraded.

Thank you!
its the same!! You can use itunes to modify
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-11-2010, 01:19 PM
spinsah spinsah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: PT9 and MP3 Encoding question

DOH - that's what I was afraid of...

I currently use iTunes to modify but it would have been oh so much more convenient to just do it all on the export dialog...

Oh well - thanks for the answer guys!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-11-2010, 01:37 PM
tghrs tghrs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 50
Default Re: PT9 and MP3 Encoding question

Actually from what I have seen it does have a more expanded functionality than PT 8.X.X. Not as much as the one in SONAR, but quite a bit better than before. Especially for a free option.
__________________
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit
DAW: Protools 9 & Sonar Producer 8.5
CPU: AMD Phenom X4 940 3GHz
RAM: Kingston 1066 DDR2 4GB
MoBo: ASUS M3A78
Video: Saphire ATI Radeon 4850HD 1GB
Other: UAD-2 Duo

Interface: Presonus StudioLive 16.4.2 & Firestudio Mobile
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
encoding question bruce lang Post - Surround - Video 4 11-08-2010 04:07 AM
AC3 encoding? KingTor Post - Surround - Video 4 10-01-2009 05:54 PM
5.1 DVD Encoding tandem Post - Surround - Video 1 03-10-2005 04:25 PM
encoding question tokyofan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 07-05-2004 08:11 PM
Dolby LCRS encoding question for Sundance georgia Tips & Tricks 1 09-01-2000 11:05 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com