Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Old 03-18-2010, 04:00 AM

Default Digidesign (or Dodgydesign as we call them in England) rant.

I am fuming with rage, incandescent with anger, and shaking with a cold and unmeasurable fury.

I recently upgraded to PTLE, with a Digi 003+, Logic Pro 9, and an Octopre MkII Dynamic.

Guess which product took me an afternoon on the phone to Tech Support to install and configure? Yes, the Dodgy one. (And I'm not a novice: I used to demonstrate PT at trade shows.)

Guess which product had the authorisation keys in places other than where the instructions said they would be? Yes, the Dodgy one. (And yes, I ALWAYS RTFM.)

So having done that (which is OK; I accept that a new installation always has its technical issues) I set out to to a test session by remixing a recent project. The first 8 outputs from the 003+ worked fine, but no ADAT outputs worked (although they appear in the I/O setup,) and yes, I did RTFM and connect and configure everything properly.

Phone call to Focusrite Tech Support (and I used to do Tech Support, so I wasn't rude or angry with them, or Dodgy for that matter) and we established that the Octopre was fine. Swapped cables, jiggered and poked, still no luck.

Phone call to Dodgy Tech Support (may their name be forever damned) who advised me that the best thing to do was strip everything out of my rack again and (get this!!!!) TAKE THE UNIT TO MY LOCAL DEALER AND ASK THEM TO TEST IT!!!!!!!!!!!!
(And the Tech Support person sounded as though they couldn't give a damn. OK, I'm not expecting counselling, but some expression of sympathy would not have been out of place.)