Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2021

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-21-2021, 09:06 AM
feakerboo feakerboo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 227
Default Re: Document could not be opened because it was created with an older version of Prot

Current Modus Operandi is to move this session to SSD and regularly check to make sure it's not going sideways again. It would be good to know if I can just check the TMP file as I go or if I should close and open the session over and over again. If I discover that I'll post it back here.
__________________
Brad e
Partial Credits
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-21-2021, 09:13 AM
feakerboo feakerboo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 227
Default Re: Document could not be opened because it was created with an older version of Prot

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tweakhead View Post
I'd love to know the file size difference from Brad's last working session to the one immediately after.
Surely there are some checksums going on in the background that a save has been successfully written, and if there's a discrepancy - alert the user so that they don't keep writing and working on a corrupted session. It might have enabled him to use "Save Session Copy In" instead (to a different location) - maybe that might have written a useable file. who knows. obviously what he had in RAM was functional, so I don't see why it couldn't be written to a good storage device once alerted about failing media. At the bare minimum he could have consolidated his working audio tracks.

I personally never use auto-backup, and simply save version #'s (v1.0, v1.1, etc) throughout the day each time I do a major change that I might want to revert to - combined with muscle-twitch memory of Command+S every minute or two. I realize that audio-post users like to simply work one on one ready-named session.

Brad also asks an important question:
"If it's writing the session backups corrupt, how can I trust ANYTHING?"

Does that itself point to a RAM-based error ?
.
So it's exactly the same size file when It goes from good to bad. In text edit it's totally obvious that it's corrupt and it gets progressively more garbage as the auto backups continue. I know I posted this before but I've run disk Util and Disk Warrior and there are no reported errors. It's very strange. Other session are not exhibiting this behavior on this drive. YET.
__________________
Brad e
Partial Credits
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-21-2021, 09:28 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,028
Default Re: Document could not be opened because it was created with an older version of Prot

Brad, did you try both ways of opening the session?
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command|8, SSL UC1.
Pro Tools 2020.11.0.157, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-21-2021, 09:42 AM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,730
Default Re: Document could not be opened because it was created with an older version of Prot

Quote:
Originally Posted by feakerboo View Post
The physical drive is one of the super expensive WD 10TB Data Center drives it's probably a year old.
actually WD is one of the companies getting accused of using SMR on these massive drives and not letting customers know. do some reading on this.

go to an SSD for everything that's a live session.
only use Seagate data drives that are affirmed to be non-SMR for backup, and only do full backups. never overwrite anything. it's not worth the risk.
Seagate CMR | SMR Table:
https://www.seagate.com/internal-har.../cmr-smr-list/

Last edited by Tweakhead; 10-21-2021 at 11:27 AM. Reason: added info.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-21-2021, 09:48 AM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,730
Default Re: Document could not be opened because it was created with an older version of Prot

Quote:
Originally Posted by feakerboo View Post
So it's exactly the same size file when It goes from good to bad. In text edit it's totally obvious that it's corrupt and it gets progressively more garbage as the auto backups continue. I know I posted this before but I've run disk Util and Disk Warrior and there are no reported errors. It's very strange. Other session are not exhibiting this behavior on this drive. YET.
wow. so that screws the checksum idea.
you're not running any drive encryption are you ?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-21-2021, 11:05 AM
feakerboo feakerboo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 227
Default Re: Document could not be opened because it was created with an older version of Prot

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tweakhead View Post
wow. so that screws the checksum idea.
you're not running any drive encryption are you ?
No encryption on this drive. I do use encrypted drives when I'm on a big show. It's required.

-b
__________________
Brad e
Partial Credits
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-21-2021, 11:06 AM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,730
Default Re: Document could not be opened because it was created with an older version of Prot

and I wouldn't dare to write a single thing to that drive for now. don't even open a session, as it will write caches.
either clone the entire thing, or copy off things you immediately need.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-21-2021, 11:07 AM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,730
Default Re: Document could not be opened because it was created with an older version of Prot

Quote:
Originally Posted by feakerboo View Post
No encryption on this drive. I do use encrypted drives when I'm on a big show. It's required.-b
what kind of drive when it's encrypted ? spinner or SSD ?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-21-2021, 06:40 PM
feakerboo feakerboo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 227
Default Re: Document could not be opened because it was created with an older version of Prot

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tweakhead View Post
what kind of drive when it's encrypted ? spinner or SSD ?
I have an Apricorn Aegis Padlock DT FIPS that's been reliable. If I'm shipping or going on a plane I use that. But just as a way to move big data. I can work from it but I don't generally.

I'm playing with the Samsung L7s. I know a ton of guys who just have encrypted volumes on their T5s. Sometime's I'll keep the QTs on an encrypted volume that I dismount at the end of everyday but I love the idea of the L7s assuming they are reliable.
__________________
Brad e
Partial Credits
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-25-2021, 04:26 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 614
Default Re: Document could not be opened because it was created with an older version of Prot

Hi Brad. This certainly seems like a disk issue but hard to say. Have you opened a support case? There is a chance of corruption within PT but it has different symptoms than what you describe. See here (but it's a long thread):

https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=405902

That's the only current show stopper corruption I've seen. There was another one related to imported material but I think it's been solved. Most other "normal" corruption can be solved by importing to a new session like you tried.

Let us know if you find anything out. You have my sympathy for lost work!
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The document could not be opened because it was created with an older version of Pro futz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 03-14-2018 12:08 PM
the document cannot be opened because it was created with an older version of PT studer80 Pro Tools 10 7 01-02-2013 07:00 PM
The Document cannot be opened because it was created with an older version of Pro Too dmartin714 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-16-2010 08:28 AM
The document could not be opened because it was created with an older version of Pro Santiagoc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 09-13-2009 06:06 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com