Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 10-21-2021, 06:08 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,600
Default Re: Has anyone tried Pro Tools 2021.7 on the Monterey Betas?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
Everyone has different use cases. You can’t please everyone.
Exactly.

And right now there is this thing that I myself call "adapter hell", which is why I do not mind having dedicated HDMI and USB-A to get rid of some adapters. Maybe in three(ish) years things have changed, but we live in the now.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11-15-2021, 12:04 PM
GoButtonGuy GoButtonGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 80
Default Re: Has anyone tried Pro Tools 2021.7 on the Monterey Betas?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
I
Everyone has different use cases. You can’t please everyone. IMO, they shouldn’t have dropped a TB port to reintroduce a legacy connection. That is all.
(emphasis mine)

I wouldn't consider HDMI to be a legacy connection. It's an order of magnitude more prevalent than any alternative including DP and TB3. It's the consumer/prosumer standard right now. In production we use a bit of DP but it's mostly some flavor of SDI directly into a studio monitor. For corporate presentations or general AV it's far and away HDMI.
__________________
What happens in Vegas, we make happen...
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11-15-2021, 03:55 PM
digiot digiot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: NYC,NY
Posts: 358
Default Re: Has anyone tried Pro Tools 2021.7 on the Monterey Betas?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoButtonGuy View Post
(emphasis mine)

I wouldn't consider HDMI to be a legacy connection. It's an order of magnitude more prevalent than any alternative including DP and TB3. It's the consumer/prosumer standard right now. In production we use a bit of DP but it's mostly some flavor of SDI directly into a studio monitor. For corporate presentations or general AV it's far and away HDMI.
The problem is that you can turn TB4 in to an HDMI connector, a USB A connector a USB c connector and an Ethernet connector but you can't turn HDMI in to a TB4 connector
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-15-2021, 04:20 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,468
Default Re: Has anyone tried Pro Tools 2021.7 on the Monterey Betas?

Quote:
Originally Posted by digiot View Post
The problem is that you can turn TB4 in to an HDMI connector, a USB A connector a USB c connector and an Ethernet connector but you can't turn HDMI in to a TB4 connector

Thank you.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 11-15-2021, 05:09 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,243
Default Re: Has anyone tried Pro Tools 2021.7 on the Monterey Betas?

Quote:
Originally Posted by digiot View Post
The problem is that you can turn TB4 in to an HDMI connector, a USB A connector a USB c connector and an Ethernet connector but you can't turn HDMI in to a TB4 connector
Don't get me wrong. I'd prefer to have 4 TB ports instead of 3 TB ports. Apple can't win here. For a whole generation of Macbook Pro's, all we hear is people complaining about needing dongles and needing a dock for any type of connection. I do see the compromise Apple is offering. If it were up to me, I would add the Magsafe power connector, HDMI output, and SD card reader while keeping 4 TB ports.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacBookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 11.6 running Protools 2021.10
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 11-16-2021, 09:23 AM
GoButtonGuy GoButtonGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 80
Default Re: Has anyone tried Pro Tools 2021.7 on the Monterey Betas?

Quote:
Originally Posted by digiot View Post
The problem is that you can turn TB4 in to an HDMI connector, a USB A connector a USB c connector and an Ethernet connector but you can't turn HDMI in to a TB4 connector
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
Thank you.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I understand your point. You guys are the edge cases wanting to convert HDMI back to TB. The point is HDMI is everywhere. To refer to it as legacy does not reflect what's happening in the market. Widespread adoption of TB video is not a thing now. Not consumers and not pros. A majority of pro video gear has either HDMI, SDI or both. Some have TB connections. In pro apps TB is largely used for data transfer but not so much production video once you're off an editing station. I've yet to see a TB display in a truck or control room.

There is a good chance that 2110 and/or NDI will be the standards for pro interoperability (in some places they are now) rather than TB video. Once more Win PC manufacturers start making TB video a thing and lower end/cost displays support it could (likely will) supplant HDMI on the desktop but that's not the case now. Apple made the right call including HDMI even at the expense of a TB port.
__________________
What happens in Vegas, we make happen...
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 11-16-2021, 09:28 AM
GoButtonGuy GoButtonGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 80
Default Re: Has anyone tried Pro Tools 2021.7 on the Monterey Betas?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obsidian Dragon View Post
Don't get me wrong. I'd prefer to have 4 TB ports instead of 3 TB ports. Apple can't win here. For a whole generation of Macbook Pro's, all we hear is people complaining about needing dongles and needing a dock for any type of connection. I do see the compromise Apple is offering. If it were up to me, I would add the Magsafe power connector, HDMI output, and SD card reader while keeping 4 TB ports.
The issue as I understand it is there are only 3 controllers/busses for TB in the current SoC. HDMI is from a bus from the GPU not using TB bandwidth. The fourth port would need to share bandwidth with another. Then there is the issue of space for the port vs. industrial design. If we've learned anything from Apple is that they'll sacrifice functionality for design 9 out of 10 times.
__________________
What happens in Vegas, we make happen...
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 11-16-2021, 01:43 PM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 382
Default Re: Has anyone tried Pro Tools 2021.7 on the Monterey Betas?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoButtonGuy View Post
The issue as I understand it is there are only 3 controllers/busses for TB in the current SoC. HDMI is from a bus from the GPU not using TB bandwidth. The fourth port would need to share bandwidth with another. Then there is the issue of space for the port vs. industrial design. If we've learned anything from Apple is that they'll sacrifice functionality for design 9 out of 10 times.
You are correct about only three TB busses on the new chips but is that a chicken or the egg thing?
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, Open Core 0.7.5 EFI, Radeon RX580 GPU, GC-TITAN RIDGE TB3 PCIe card, M.2 NVMe SSD boot drive on PCIe card, 48GB RAM, MacOS 11.6.1
Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.10 HDX, UA Octo PCIe card in external TB3 chassis, HD I/O, C|24 control surface.
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 11-17-2021, 11:21 AM
digiot digiot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: NYC,NY
Posts: 358
Default Re: Has anyone tried Pro Tools 2021.7 on the Monterey Betas?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoButtonGuy View Post
I understand your point. You guys are the edge cases wanting to convert HDMI back to TB. The point is HDMI is everywhere. To refer to it as legacy does not reflect what's happening in the market. Widespread adoption of TB video is not a thing now. Not consumers and not pros. A majority of pro video gear has either HDMI, SDI or both. Some have TB connections. In pro apps TB is largely used for data transfer but not so much production video once you're off an editing station. I've yet to see a TB display in a truck or control room.

There is a good chance that 2110 and/or NDI will be the standards for pro interoperability (in some places they are now) rather than TB video. Once more Win PC manufacturers start making TB video a thing and lower end/cost displays support it could (likely will) supplant HDMI on the desktop but that's not the case now. Apple made the right call including HDMI even at the expense of a TB port.
You still don't get it. With 4 TB4 ports you can convert any of those to HDMI/USB C,USB A/Ethernet/SD card reader and power up from it! The one HDMI port replacing the 4th Thunderbolt port only connects to an HDMI device!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2021.6 and 2021.7 restart after exit NJsound.com Pro Tools 2021 12 08-11-2021 02:45 PM
Recommended iMac Specs for Pro Tools 2021.3 (Pro Tools STANDARD) BigSur Compatibility Spoil the Child macOS 19 04-05-2021 06:35 PM
Focusrite Scarlett Interfaces - New MixControl and Driver Betas July 2014 Katherine_Focusrite Third Party Interfaces 83 11-11-2015 09:54 AM
ValhallaDSP AAX betas for Mac & PC now available mlemos AAX Plug-ins 8 04-06-2015 08:06 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com