Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | Sync X & SYNC HD

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-14-2021, 11:06 AM
vincentcosson vincentcosson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: France
Posts: 1
Default ways to manage the sync

Hi.
I have a hdx3 but find it more convenient to use voicepack with DANTE and MTRX (meaning no HDX Cards) is there a way to control the sync hd and X without the serial/hdx?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-14-2021, 04:16 PM
Kyle Splittgerber's Avatar
Kyle Splittgerber Kyle Splittgerber is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: CA
Posts: 546
Default Re: ways to manage the sync

Quote:
Originally Posted by vincentcosson View Post
Hi.
I have a hdx3 but find it more convenient to use voicepack with DANTE and MTRX (meaning no HDX Cards) is there a way to control the sync hd and X without the serial/hdx?
Hi Vincent,

Using Sync X or Sync HD as a synchronizer in Pro Tools requires a HDX or HD Native system. The serial port on those products is how devices communicate and ensure alignment.

That said, Sync HD does have standalone operation where Sync X does not. But keep in mind that standalone operation will simply provide the ability to use Sync HD as an external clock master and LTC generator device. It will not allow any synchronization functions in Pro Tools which are required for things like frame edge alignment to video reference.
__________________
Kyle Splittgerber
Senior Principal Product Designer
Avid
Berkeley, CA
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In & out manage on tracks fenders74 Artist Series 0 11-04-2014 03:07 AM
Please Weigh In: To Bass Manage or Not To Bass Manage, that is the question. Wyn Post - Surround - Video 10 08-06-2011 09:42 AM
Did anyone manage logic and PT on same mac in sync crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 04-07-2006 11:21 AM
To bass manage or not to bass manage Rick Sanchez Post - Surround - Video 35 08-28-2005 08:00 PM
Ways to Sync Tascam Reel to my 192 IO? brianjanthony Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 05-28-2005 11:29 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com