Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-19-2020, 11:09 AM
BobNunn BobNunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 16
Default Monitoring SOLO in ProTools with a S6L AVB connection

We have a new Avid S6L-32D digital mixer. Using AVB, I've connected a Mac mini and installed a licensed version of ProTools 2020. Everything works great. ProTools tracks are automatically named from the S6L. Signals look great. Virtual playback of the recorded tracks back through the S6L is perfect. My question is, how can I solo a channel in ProTools while live recording or doing virtual playback? Output channels are mapped back to the S6L.

BTW: I know I can SOLO on the S6L and it's essentially the same as what I'm getting in ProTools. However, there is a engineer running the S6L for FOH live sound and I want to monitor ProTools without touching his board.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-24-2020, 04:13 PM
Kristo Kotkas's Avatar
Kristo Kotkas Kristo Kotkas is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 620
Default Re: Monitoring SOLO in ProTools with a S6L AVB connection

Hello,

I have not done this on the S6L as I don't have one, but on my Profile I have done this:

In ProTools set the output of all your incoming channels to one stereo output and patch that output to a free channel on the S6L, then globally recall safe that channel on S6L from all automation and send a pre fader direct out of that channel to a free physical output. That way the total mix of every input in your pro tools recording will play to that output. Connect your headphone amp to that output and you can either hear the solo you needed or a complete mix of all your inputs and be completely independent of what the FOH engineer is doing. You can create a pleasant mix for yourself using the Pro Tools faders so that whenever you don't need to solo anything you have a decent mix that does not clip the Pro Tools output / S6L input and is bearable to listen to. You can even use the EQ's and Comp's in PT if you are running a DSP version to make it sound better for you.

By doing this you loose the Virtual Soundcheck option as all channels do not feed back to their original channels but in your case I think it is more important for you to be able to keep an eye and ear on your recording instead.

Hope this helps!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ProTools Solo while connected to S6L BobNunn Getting Started 3 12-19-2020 02:35 PM
Protools 10: mute and solo aren't working. (Solo safe is not on any of the tracks.) charlottewrinch macOS 2 04-14-2012 06:32 PM
ProTools 8 Solo Crash AssertionError Post - Surround - Video 18 05-25-2011 06:53 PM
ProTools to Masterlink Connection? Digitalkidd Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-29-2005 03:02 PM
Connection Avid and Protools SpyAJ15 General Discussion 2 06-28-2004 09:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com