Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-16-2003, 05:39 PM
blues4u blues4u is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1
Default Trim, mute or fader?

I am new to PT (Digi 001 running LE 5.3.1 on a PC)and this forum so forgive me if this has been asked and answered (I did some searches and didn't find exactly what I was looking for)...
I am importing .wav files that I recorded live so each track is one complete region. For tracks that are used only in certain spots (backing vocals, solos, etc) what to folks recommend for handling these; trim, mute or fader? What are the advantages and disadvantages to any technique?
Any input is appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-16-2003, 08:56 PM
metaltim metaltim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: College Station whoop
Posts: 939
Default Re: Trim, mute or fader?

so is the wav file the whole length of the song? and only a fraction of it actually has sound?

if so, i woulc cut any long spaces that have no sound. then just use a fade to end, and fade to beginning to get rid of pops.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-17-2003, 06:42 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,015
Default Re: Trim, mute or fader?

Strip silence.
I think its in the windows menu. Be shure to leave some "padding".

If you get clicks at start or end of regions, select all regions and select "Create fades...".
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command|8, SSL UC1.
Pro Tools 2020.11.0.157, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-18-2003, 01:01 AM
cybership cybership is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 211
Default Re: Trim, mute or fader?

I usually trim dead spots or highlight and delete them. Saves on fader automation moves which may not be a big deal depending on how much you have going on. You might save some time using Strip Silence as Ben suggested.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Send mute/solo follows track mute/solo pre-fader Roger_Jam_Jet Windows 3 09-24-2017 02:59 PM
Volume Trim and VCA fader Fourtsian Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 04-09-2013 08:27 PM
How to put a fader in volume trim Brandonx1 Artist Series 3 09-16-2012 09:30 AM
Map volume trim to fader idris Artist Series 1 08-01-2012 05:31 PM
Does PT has a trim fader option? macrocklin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 07-25-2003 01:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:55 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com