Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-03-2008, 09:32 PM
rbienstock rbienstock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Default OWC Mercury Elite-AL Pro Drives?

Has anyone tried an OWC Mercury Elite-AL Pro drive with a Factory 003? This drive uses RAID 0 to improve performance and OWC says that it is the best drive that they have for audio production and they also state "All Mercury Elite Models are tested and fully suitable for Audio/Video." But Digi says that you can't use RAID drives. Maybe they don't mean RAID 0, though. Other iterations of RAID have a performance hit due to the duplication of data. RAID 0 doesn't duplicate data, but instead increases performance by striping data onto two separate drives, effectively doubling throughput. So will it work?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-03-2008, 09:46 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,275
Default Re: OWC Mercury Elite-AL Pro Drives?

Probably not. When DIGI says they don't support RAID, that means all versions of RAID. Maybe you can reformat as JBOD? Their single(non0RAID) firewire drives work great with Protools.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-06-2008, 10:33 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,807
Default Re: OWC Mercury Elite-AL Pro Drives?

I've got one of these drives at home, so I could probably test it tonite and let you know.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-07-2008, 02:22 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,807
Default Re: OWC Mercury Elite-AL Pro Drives?

Sorry, but even a hardware RAID drive won't work for recording in Pro Tools.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-07-2008, 05:10 PM
rallycars rallycars is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12
Default Re: OWC Mercury Elite-AL Pro Drives?

Even if it would work, I would recommend against using it. I have one for my time machine drive and it is quite noticeably loud. It would definitely be an issue if recording in the same room as the computer. I turn it off when using mics. My imac is much quieter than either of my dual drive enclosures. my old maxtor single drive is much quieter. I think it has something to do with the controller that splits the data between the drives because it sounds much more angry than other drives. When my power supply failed i tried to replace it with the single drive unit, but it didn't happen. I would recommend only buying single enclosure drives.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-07-2008, 05:54 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,807
Default Re: OWC Mercury Elite-AL Pro Drives?

The cool thing about these drive cases is that you get hardware mirroring built in (or other forms of RAID) - good for auto-backups.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-08-2008, 06:30 PM
jes's Avatar
jes jes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 224
Default Re: OWC Mercury Elite-AL Pro Drives?

question for mr rallycars: what interface/external drive combo are you using with the imac? i've always used a tower machine with multiple drive bays inside, and it needs updating, i've been considering the big imacs as i can't afford a mac pro at all. but i use the mbox2 pro, which is firewire and generally has problems with external drives....
__________________
http://www.jonathansegel.com
Mac Pro Nehalem 2.8Ghz Quad 32GB RAM
Macbook Pro 2.8Ghz 16GB RAM
PT 2020
UAD-2 Apollo Quad, PCIE and Satellite
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual? dr_daw General Discussion 6 02-21-2014 08:50 AM
OWC Mercury Elite Pro drives now with USB 3.0 nst7 Pro Tools 10 0 09-19-2012 08:46 AM
OWC Mercury Elite Pro AL philip morris macOS 6 03-09-2012 08:21 AM
Does OWC Mercury Elite-AL Pro Qx2 work with PT8? 5by5_audio Storage Subsystems 7 06-04-2010 04:15 PM
got one of those mercury elite hard drives but got a probl chazzo03 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 03-06-2008 07:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:44 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com