Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-20-2022, 03:40 PM
PhilipKapadia's Avatar
PhilipKapadia PhilipKapadia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: London
Posts: 96
Default Where to record audio files to

Hi all,

So I have a new custom PC build setup. The system will be used ONLY for 8 c channel live recording. I have a separate station for audio mixing/editing.

I'm wondering which location I can record to (session folder).

I have an internal SSD that is my C drive, That is a very quick Samsung SSD. Can I save my session folder to the same drive as my windows drive? Theoretically, that should be no problem... The SSD should have more than enough bandwidth to record 8 channels of audio to simultaneously.

Do I really need to invest in an external drive to record to? What would be best, an SSD or a fast spinning drive?

Thanks in advance!
__________________
Editing Move Magic
https://philipkapadia.com/stuff
philipkapadia@gmail.com
Media Composer Ultimate 2022.7 | Pro Tools Studio 2022.6 | Sibelius Artist 22022.5
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-20-2022, 04:14 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,936
Default Re: Where to record audio files to

Record anywhere you want.

Why would you want a slow old spinning HDD for anything except backup/archive... they are great for archiving.

If recording to your internal SSD works for you (space etc.) then go for it. That will be more reliable than any external drive with risk of connection errors and finger problems. There was *never* a requirement to record to an *external* drive, in the ancient days of slow HDD there was a requirement to record to a separate dedicated HDD, which could have been internal or external.

Hopefully you have a modern M.2 NVMe internal SSD, just because they are stinking fast, and not much more $$$ than a slower SATA SSD.

Now how many external/removable SSDs or HDD do you have to back up sessions to... ?

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 09-20-2022 at 05:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-20-2022, 06:09 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,435
Default Re: Where to record audio files to

For me, there are 2 questions that matter on this:
#1-How big is your SSD?
#2-Are you using a laptop or a desktop?

Re #1-if your C: drive is 500GB or smaller, you may find yourself moving sessions off to conserve working space(and you should always leave 10-15% open anyway).
Re #2-if its a desktop, install another SSD and record to that. My reason being that you can do backups of your system drive and audio drive separately(to external drives), and so you can copy important sessions so they exist on both internal drives(in addition to saving copies on an external drive). If your stuff doesn't exist in at least 3 places, then its not backed up! If you're thinking, "surely my new drive(s) won't fail for years", you could be wrong. That means, back up anything that you don't want to lose! Sorry to sound like a broken record on this, but I've had drives fail at 2 weeks, 1 year, and even 6 weeks with a Samsung SSD, so I take no chances now.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-20-2022, 10:48 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,480
Default Re: Where to record audio files to

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Record anywhere you want...
+1. Use the Pro Tools disk cache feature.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win11 / Intel 11th Gen i9 5.1GHz / 64Gb DDR4-3600 / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win10 / older HP ProBook with i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy (works!): PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for audio/video demo
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-21-2022, 06:23 AM
PhilipKapadia's Avatar
PhilipKapadia PhilipKapadia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: London
Posts: 96
Default Re: Where to record audio files to

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Record anywhere you want.

Why would you want a slow old spinning HDD for anything except backup/archive... they are great for archiving.

If recording to your internal SSD works for you (space etc.) then go for it. That will be more reliable than any external drive with risk of connection errors and finger problems. There was *never* a requirement to record to an *external* drive, in the ancient days of slow HDD there was a requirement to record to a separate dedicated HDD, which could have been internal or external.

Hopefully you have a modern M.2 NVMe internal SSD, just because they are stinking fast, and not much more $$$ than a slower SATA SSD.

Now how many external/removable SSDs or HDD do you have to back up sessions to... ?
Thank you!

No, I think SSDs are the best way to go.

I ask because as some on here might remember I'm more familiar with video systems e.g. Avid's Media Composer, and one thing we do NOT do is save video files on the C drive as there isn't enough bandwith to go round with video. I wanted to understand if there were similar limitations/traps on the audio side, but it seems fine.
__________________
Editing Move Magic
https://philipkapadia.com/stuff
philipkapadia@gmail.com
Media Composer Ultimate 2022.7 | Pro Tools Studio 2022.6 | Sibelius Artist 22022.5
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-21-2022, 06:25 AM
PhilipKapadia's Avatar
PhilipKapadia PhilipKapadia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: London
Posts: 96
Default Re: Where to record audio files to

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
For me, there are 2 questions that matter on this:
#1-How big is your SSD?
#2-Are you using a laptop or a desktop?

Re #1-if your C: drive is 500GB or smaller, you may find yourself moving sessions off to conserve working space(and you should always leave 10-15% open anyway).
Re #2-if its a desktop, install another SSD and record to that. My reason being that you can do backups of your system drive and audio drive separately(to external drives), and so you can copy important sessions so they exist on both internal drives(in addition to saving copies on an external drive). If your stuff doesn't exist in at least 3 places, then its not backed up! If you're thinking, "surely my new drive(s) won't fail for years", you could be wrong. That means, back up anything that you don't want to lose! Sorry to sound like a broken record on this, but I've had drives fail at 2 weeks, 1 year, and even 6 weeks with a Samsung SSD, so I take no chances now.
I'm running a custom built Pro Tools Studio desktop. It has a SATA SSD.

As I mentioned I have a separate system for mixing which is networked together, so I will be moving files across to that system after every session. So I only really need a temp location during recording
__________________
Editing Move Magic
https://philipkapadia.com/stuff
philipkapadia@gmail.com
Media Composer Ultimate 2022.7 | Pro Tools Studio 2022.6 | Sibelius Artist 22022.5
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-21-2022, 06:26 AM
PhilipKapadia's Avatar
PhilipKapadia PhilipKapadia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: London
Posts: 96
Default Re: Where to record audio files to

And might I also ask, where does Pro Tools store files that are recording by default? Is it in the Pro Tools project folder? Session Data Folder?

How can I choose where to save the recording files in Pro Tools?
__________________
Editing Move Magic
https://philipkapadia.com/stuff
philipkapadia@gmail.com
Media Composer Ultimate 2022.7 | Pro Tools Studio 2022.6 | Sibelius Artist 22022.5
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-21-2022, 07:22 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,839
Default Re: Where to record audio files to

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilipKapadia View Post
And might I also ask, where does Pro Tools store files that are recording by default? Is it in the Pro Tools project folder? Session Data Folder?

How can I choose where to save the recording files in Pro Tools?
Humm ? not sure why in custom build you wound not have as Darrel mentioned and internal PCIe M.2 NVMe SSD But that is another discussion.

So Me I would just record to your main system SSD drive (unless it is too small like 256 GB ) which you still have not listed how big it is ?

Also note unless you are using the cloud there should not be a "Project Folder"

There will be a Session Folder which is where all the files should be and if I remember correctly the default location is documents on Mac (don't know about Windows ) BUT Yes you can assign its storage location. Me I have PT set up to launch showing the Dashboard and at the bottom you can assign the storage location

Me and for you (given what you are doing transferring every time) I would just assign the Desktop as the location
You can also assign where to Bounce mix to in that dialog box
__________________
System :
Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2022.6 .....Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen processor,,128GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory,,2TB SSD storage,,Radeon Pro 5700 XT with 16GB of GDDR6 memory,, on Monterey 12.5.1

"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...

Last edited by K Roche; 09-21-2022 at 07:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-21-2022, 11:43 AM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,022
Default Re: Where to record audio files to

If you're used to video workflows, one difference is that PT is very focused on monolithic projects. There is no central Capture or Render location. It wants everything in each specific session's folder. (You can link to external media of course)

So unless you specify otherwise the recorded files will be in your session folder.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-21-2022, 11:44 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,711
Default Re: Where to record audio files to

The default session location is on the dashboard:
Click the Location button to specify the default location for saving sessions.
There is also an option you can enable, right above the location button, so that PT will prompt you for a location whenever creating a session.
__________________
Will

System Details
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Session must be on an audio record volume if permmited set the volumes to R record lionandthemouse 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 03-11-2013 02:48 PM
usaved PT session saving unsaved audio files to audio files folder mermermer Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 07-18-2012 12:50 PM
Audio files on one FW Drive render blank audio files when copied ridmik Digidesign Hardware & Software 4 03-30-2012 01:55 PM
Can i record my Reason intruments to audio files? MoRbid 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 07-09-2004 09:22 AM
record error/lockup creates HUGE AUDIO FILES!!! david kowalski Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 03-23-2002 09:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com