Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-05-2022, 11:20 AM
Peck2000 Peck2000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: London
Posts: 12
Default No monitor sound from Mbox 2 Pro ... again

Hi, all,

This seems to be a common question, but none of the conventional answers that turned up via Google have helped me ...

My Mbox 2 Pro setup has been working happily with Pro Tools 8.0.5 for months since I upgraded from Pro Tools 8.0 in March 2022. But last week it suddenly stopped outputting sound from the Monitor Port to my hifi monitor amp. Yet, if I plug headphones into the Mbox 2 Pro, I get sound from them.

So, I've tried:

1. Resetting the I/O setting to default
2. Trashing all the preferences
3. Deinstalling and reinstalling Pro Tools
4. Swapped out the Mbox 2 Pro for my backup Mbox 2 (USB)

Same result every time - no sound from the Monitor port, headphones work okay.

I have probably pressed some key combination to cause the loss of monitor sound, but darned if I can figure out what I did.

If anyone has any hints or tips on how I can get sound out of the Monitor outputs and into my monitor amp I'd be hugely grateful.

Alan
__________________
Mac Pro: 4,1: 48Gb RAM: OSX 10.6.8
Mbox 2 Pro: Pro Tools 8.0.5
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-05-2022, 11:43 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,775
Default Re: No monitor sound from Mbox 2 Pro ... again

And, of course you have checked that the hifi amp is set up as it should and is working. Just making shure.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini M1, 16GB RAM. 512GBinternal(3000MB/s),2TB(1300MB/s),2TB(350MB/s)
MacOS 11.6.8. PT 2020.12.1 (Reinstatement on hold for M3 macs and AS native PT)
Topping D50 DAC, Dynaudio BM6p, Artist Mix, SSL UC1, EuControl on iPad.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-05-2022, 02:15 PM
Peck2000 Peck2000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: London
Posts: 12
Default Re: No monitor sound from Mbox 2 Pro ... again

Yup ... hifi setup plays iTunes from my Mac just fine ...


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
And, of course you have checked that the hifi amp is set up as it should and is working. Just making shure.
__________________
Mac Pro: 4,1: 48Gb RAM: OSX 10.6.8
Mbox 2 Pro: Pro Tools 8.0.5
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Monitor not outputting sound with MBOX Pro Archalen FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 6 02-21-2015 11:25 AM
Monitor sound vs playback sound sean_pc Pro Tools 10 4 06-22-2013 07:57 AM
MBox 2 Pro Monitor knob has stopped changing monitor levels Rumandolin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-21-2013 10:13 AM
(mbox pro 2) no monitor sound coming out , while recording or anything period JuiccMajor 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 03-10-2012 02:34 AM
No monitor/headphone sound from Mbox 2 Pro Welby 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-17-2006 11:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com