Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-11-2022, 09:47 PM
KXNG iLLuSioN KXNG iLLuSioN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: Lancaster CA
Posts: 20
Default BabyFace Pro to ISA One?

Hello everyone, I have a little situation that I would love some help with.
So right now my set up is:

TLM 103 Into Focusrite ISA One Mic 1 Input Into Balanced TRS Input on the Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 (3rd Gen) Into my protools on Windows 10 and everything is running good. I turn down the gain on all the way on the Scarlett and leave the 48 Phantom power off and power it on using the ISA One

I just purchased a BabyFace Pro interface to upgrade from the Focusrite Scarlett. But now I’m doing research on how to set it up (which I should have done first) and I can’t find a definitive answer. I was guessing I could just run it the same way I did the Scarlett.

So my new set up should be:

TLM 103 Into ISA One Mic 1 Input Into BabyFace Pro Into My protools on Windows 10

I would greatly appreciate some help on setting this up.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-16-2022, 04:14 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,431
Default Re: BabyFace Pro to ISA One?

Quote:
Originally Posted by KXNG iLLuSioN View Post
Hello everyone, I have a little situation that I would love some help with.
So right now my set up is:

TLM 103 Into Focusrite ISA One Mic 1 Input Into Balanced TRS Input on the Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 (3rd Gen) Into my protools on Windows 10 and everything is running good. I turn down the gain on all the way on the Scarlett and leave the 48 Phantom power off and power it on using the ISA One

I just purchased a BabyFace Pro interface to upgrade from the Focusrite Scarlett. But now I’m doing research on how to set it up (which I should have done first) and I can’t find a definitive answer. I was guessing I could just run it the same way I did the Scarlett.

So my new set up should be:

TLM 103 Into ISA One Mic 1 Input Into BabyFace Pro Into My protools on Windows 10

I would greatly appreciate some help on setting this up.
With this equipment, the ISA-ONE should connect to input 3 or 4 as those are line level(connecting to either of the mic inputs will be bad as you would be running a preamp into another preamp).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-16-2022, 04:41 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,175
Default Re: BabyFace Pro to ISA One?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
connecting to either of the mic inputs will be bad as you would be running a preamp into another preamp).
No. Line 1 and 2 are functionally line-ins when not used as mic pres.
Nothing "bad". Just don't have gain up.

3/4 inputs are unbalanced (unlike balanced 1/2)
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2022.7, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniS1 x 2, FireHD x 2, Dock, iPad Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 4TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RME Babyface £350 spaceman Buy & Sell 0 01-30-2016 01:26 PM
New RME Babyface Pro for Windows+Mac VRW Third Party Interfaces 1 09-22-2015 12:53 PM
FS: RME Babyface (Blue) crandallwarren Buy & Sell 0 07-30-2014 11:19 AM
RME Babyface with PT/mbox 2 pcv General Discussion 0 01-20-2012 01:03 AM
RME Babyface and 11R Legion6789 Pro Tools 10 0 12-26-2011 02:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com