Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-01-2020, 07:03 AM
Mark Norup Mark Norup is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 35
Default Media Offline

When importing a DNxHD film in to PT 2020.3 it says media offline ? All has been working perfect I 2019 - my system is OS Mojave 10.14.6
__________________
Kind regards
mix engineer
Mark Norup
www.marknorup.dk
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-01-2020, 09:07 AM
Reckless Erik Reckless Erik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Reykjavik,Iceland
Posts: 776
Default Re: Media Offline

Move the video to a separate drive. It seems to work. God knows why they have changed this.
__________________
nickcath@internet.is
Newcomer Audio Post
MacBookPro 2.3GHz i7 16GB RAM OSX 10.15.7, PT Ultimate 2022.10 HDn, MTRX Studio, 2x Avid S1, PT Dock...
Mac M1 Studio Ultra 64GB RAM OSX 12.6.1, PT Ultimate 2022.10 HDn, MTRX Studio, 2x Avid S1, PT Dock...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-01-2020, 09:29 AM
emj_antonin emj_antonin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bournemouth, UK
Posts: 11
Default Re: Media Offline

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reckless Erik View Post
Move the video to a separate drive. It seems to work. God knows why they have changed this.
I had the same... I also needed to re-render the video from DaVinci Resolve Studio, using another codec (ProRes 422HQ instead H.264). No way to have the video played from the usual/original Video Files folder inside the Session Folder.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-01-2020, 09:32 AM
oudi oudi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 14
Default Re: Media Offline

hello

same here
i've changed the name of the video and everything work again.
best
jf
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-01-2020, 10:10 AM
originalscottyg originalscottyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,117
Default Re: Media Offline

Working fine here...

MacBook Pro 2019
10.14.6
PTU 2020.3
HD Native + Omni

DNxHD36 video file in .mov container is in Video Files folder, inside the session folder, but the whole session folder in on a Samsung T5 external drive.

EDIT: To be fair, this was opening an existing session after updating from 2019.10 to 2020.3. I'll check importing a video into a new session to be sure.

EDIT2: Created a new session on the internal drive. Copied video file into Video Files folder of that session. Then imported video into session. Still working fine.
__________________
Scott Gatteño

Last edited by originalscottyg; 04-01-2020 at 10:16 AM. Reason: addtl info
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-01-2020, 12:51 PM
andystar andystar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13
Default Re: Media Offline

in my case problem was in non-English characters in video folder name. Try to copy your video directly to desktop and import
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-03-2020, 02:30 AM
Mark Norup Mark Norup is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 35
Default Re: Media Offline

Thats was the problem :) Im from Denmark and we got aøå when I removed that the DNxHD files all played back as they should. Thanks everybody for helping.

Now the import of OMF files error needs to be fixed, is there any of you that have had problems with OMF import? AAF works perfect.
__________________
Kind regards
mix engineer
Mark Norup
www.marknorup.dk
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-06-2020, 05:48 AM
audiojavi audiojavi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: Media Offline

In Spain same problem. Non-english characters. Solved removing "Ñ" character from filename. Now working fine
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-06-2020, 06:29 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,312
Default Re: Media Offline

Always safe to assume you can only use ASCII 7bit characters for file names, and even then avoid special characters to be safe...
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-09-2020, 10:42 AM
ianob ianob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: JAPAN
Posts: 8
Default Re: Media Offline

Just upgraded from PT12.6.1 to latest PT2020. First project I (re)open gives me the MEDIA OFFLINE error.
Sure enough, changed the video name to ASCII (English) characters and the video works now.
Only problem is EVERY SINGLE VIDEO I HAVE BEEN WORKING ON SINCE 2015 has Japanese characters. So I can't load any of my old sessions without changing the video filename.

Does anyone know WTF is up with this? Workaround? Can I keep an older version of PT that doesn't have this issue and run it alongside the latest one?
Or does anyone know at which version the video engine stopped supporting non ASCII characters??

I am not amused.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MEDIA OFFLINE on PT2020.3 belasoul Post - Surround - Video 9 05-10-2020 12:47 PM
Media Offline? CygnusX-1Bk2 Pro Tools 12 3 04-26-2020 09:49 AM
How to log offline media?! Frank Kruse Post - Surround - Video 5 08-19-2005 03:19 PM
Logging Offline Media Rizman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-01-2004 12:56 PM
OFFLINE media/audio ongaku 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-12-2004 02:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com