Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S4/S6

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-31-2016, 03:54 PM
vpryces vpryces is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Default S6 slow layout recalling

Hi.
I hope i would get an answer from Eddie on that.
We are currently running S6 v2.1.1.68 and recalling layouts takes 3s
Mixers are becoming crazy about it.
We've been advised not to changed yet to v2.2.
What are your thoughts?
Eddie, any recommendations?
Best.
Vincent
StudiO.KgB / Paris
S6 m40 24f 9knobs
Pt12.5.2

Last edited by vpryces; 08-31-2016 at 05:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-31-2016, 06:31 PM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,968
Default Re: S6 slow layout recalling

I'm on 2.2 but I think 2.1 has the same setting. I am finding limiting the number of knobs from unlimited to 200 makes my s6 way faster.
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-31-2016, 08:33 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 3,819
Default Re: S6 slow layout recalling

There's no reason to not go to v2.2 but I don't think that will speed up you layout recalls. Users have had good results in limiting the number of knobs setting as some plugins send over way too much info and it slows down the system.
The next release of S6 which is jumping a version to match the rest of EUCON, v3.5 has massive improvements in this area. We are about to go to beta so expect a release in just over a month.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
recalling a layout - plug in to surface layer? fork-media Artist Series 2 02-16-2016 06:21 PM
TC VSS3 TDM not recalling settings JSR Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 42 09-09-2012 09:35 AM
EQ3 Not recalling/saving settings slaterweezer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 04-09-2012 11:42 AM
Sound Toys not Recalling ChsGlvr Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 08-28-2009 05:27 PM
Is there a Bug® with recalling zoom settings?? Bushpig Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 07-13-2009 03:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com