Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-15-2021, 03:01 AM
Heir-Apparent Heir-Apparent is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Australia
Posts: 11
Default 11R Editor - Avid Pushing Us Away

Doesn't open, I have tried everything and scoured the internet for months, after building my new PC, no more Editor.

I thought this was to be supported until 2024?

We shouldn't have to learn coding to enable the editor to work as it should, without the editor it's essentially useless, but it's my DAW too so this is beyond annoying.

Editor populates so it's running, I see it in Task Manager, the window itself doesn't open and isn't hiding anywhere.

One thing I notice is others mention delete the AppData/Romaing/Avid folder, the thing is, it doesn't even generate that folder.

Another thing is if I start another instance of 11rack Editor, it will add another instance in Task Manager.

Windows 10, very good machine, latest Windows updates

The amount of people with this problem, why are we ignored?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-15-2021, 10:51 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,966
Default Re: 11R Editor - Avid Pushing Us Away

I don't follow why not having an editor makes the Eleven Rack *useless*. Or what you mean by "it's my DAW too"? You mean the Eleven Rack is your interface?

How do you know "the windows is not hiding?" off screen windows was a glitch in the Editor for lots of users. "I've tried everything" posts here are fairly useless, folks here who might be able to help you have no idea what you've actually tried. Ditto with "latest" Windows, we have no idea what exact Windows release you are on, are you on Windows Insider releases etc? Do the expected thing and post your Sandra report here if you want help.

How many display monitors are you running? Have you tried with one?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-15-2021, 07:52 PM
Heir-Apparent Heir-Apparent is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Australia
Posts: 11
Default

Yes I meant interface, I don't use Pro Tools so without the Editor my 11 Rack is pretty useless.

This is Sandra:


SiSoftware Sandra

ID
Host Name : Nathe-PC
Workgroup : WORKGROUP

Computer
Model : MSI MS-7C60
Serial Number : To be fille***********
Chassis : MSI Desktop
Mainboard : MSI TRX40 PRO WIFI (MS-7C60)
Serial Number : L2161*****
BIOS : AMI (OEM) 2.75 01/15/2021
NUMA Support : 2 Unit(s)
Total Memory : 128GB DIMM DDR4

Processors
Processor : AMD Ryzen Threadripper 3970X 32-Core Processor (4C 8T 4.12GHz, 32x 512kB L2, 8x 16MB L3)
Socket/Slot : SP3r2 MCP (TR4)

Chipset
Memory Controller : AMD F19 (Ryzen3/TR3 Starship) Host Bridge 100MHz, 128GB DIMM DDR4 3.6GHz

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : G.Skill/Hynix (Hyundai) F4-3600C18-32GVK 32GB DDR4 2Rx8 PC4-28800U DDR4-3604 (19-19-19-44 4-63-21-7)
Memory Module : G.Skill/Hynix (Hyundai) F4-3600C18-32GVK 32GB DDR4 2Rx8 PC4-28800U DDR4-3604 (19-19-19-44 4-63-21-7)
Memory Module : G.Skill/Hynix (Hyundai) F4-3600C18-32GVK 32GB DDR4 2Rx8 PC4-28800U DDR4-3604 (19-19-19-44 4-63-21-7)
Memory Module : G.Skill/Hynix (Hyundai) F4-3600C18-32GVK 32GB DDR4 2Rx8 PC4-28800U DDR4-3604 (19-19-19-44 4-63-21-7)

Video System
Monitor/Panel : AUS ASUS PG43U
(3840x2160, 42.5")
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 (10496S 82C SM6.5 1.75GHz, 6MB L2, 23.8GB 19.5GHz 384-bit, PCIe 4.0 x16)

Graphics Processor
CUDA : nVidia NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 (5248S 82C SM8.6 1.75GHz, 6MB L2, 24GB 19GHz 384-bit)
OpenCL : nVidia NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 (5248S 82C SM3.0 1.75GHz, 6MB L2, 24GB 19GHz 384-bit)
D3D 11 : NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 (10496S 82C SM12.1 1.75GHz, 6MB L2, 23.8GB 19GHz 384-bit)
OpenGL : NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090/PCIe/SSE2 (10496S 82C SM4.60 1.75GHz, 6MB L2, 24GB 19GHz 384-bit)

Storage Devices
Disk : AMD-RAIDArray 2 (999.6GB, RAID, SCSI-5)
Disk : AMD-RAIDArray 4 (8TB, RAID, SCSI-5)
Disk : AMD-RAIDArray 6 (999.6GB, RAID, SCSI-5)
Disk : AMD-RAIDArray 7 (8TB, RAID, SCSI-5)
Optical : HL-DT-STBD-RE BH16NS55 (RAID, BD-RE, DVD+-RW, CD-RW)

Logical Storage Devices
Volume A (E:) : 931GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ AMD-RAIDArray 2 (999.6GB, RAID, SCSI-5)
Recovery : 529MB (NTFS, 4kB) @ AMD-RAIDArray 4 (8TB, RAID, SCSI-5)
Hard Disk (C:) : 7TB (NTFS, 4kB) @ AMD-RAIDArray 4 (8TB, RAID, SCSI-5)
Volume B (F:) : 931GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ AMD-RAIDArray 6 (999.6GB, RAID, SCSI-5)
Mirror (D:) : 7TB (NTFS, 4kB) @ AMD-RAIDArray 7 (8TB, RAID, SCSI-5)
Hard Disk : 95MB (FAT32, 1kB) @ AMD-RAIDArray 4 (8TB, RAID, SCSI-5)
Optical Drive (G:) : N/A @ HL-DT-STBD-RE BH16NS55 (RAID, BD-RE, DVD+-RW, CD-RW)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller : MSI FCH LPC Bridge
Audio Device : Gigabyte GA102 High Definition Audio Controller
Audio Codec : nVidia 009A
Audio Device : MSI F17/19 (Ryzen2/3, TR/2) HD Audio Controller
Serial Port(s) : 1
Disk Controller : MSI AMD-RAID Bottom Device
Disk Controller : AMD AMD-RAID Bottom Device
Disk Controller : AMD AMD-RAID Bottom Device
Disk Controller : Phison Electronics Corporation AMD-RAID Bottom Device
Disk Controller : Phison Electronics Corporation AMD-RAID Bottom Device
Disk Controller : Phison Electronics Corporation AMD-RAID Bottom Device
Disk Controller : Phison Electronics Corporation AMD-RAID Bottom Device
USB Controller : MSI F17/19 (Ryzen2/3, TR/2) USB 3.0 Host Controller
USB Controller : MSI F17/19 (Ryzen2/3, TR/2) USB 3.0 Host Controller
USB Controller : MSI ASM3242 USB 3.2 Host Controller
USB Controller : AMD F19 (Ryzen3/TR3 Matisse) USB 3.0 Host Controller
USB Controller : AMD F19 (Ryzen3/TR3 Matisse) USB 3.0 Host Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller : AMD SB900 SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer v4 (600x600, Colour)
Printer : Microsoft Print To PDF (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)

Biometrics
Voice : Analog NUI Voice Virtual Sensor (Voice)

Peripherals
Media Player : Samsung SM-N9005 (Media Player, 26.34GB)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Intel(R) I211 Gigabit Network Connection #2 (Ethernet)
Network Adapter : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network) (Ethernet)
Network Adapter : Intel(R) I211 Gigabit Network Connection (Ethernet)
Wireless Adapter : Intel(R) Wi-Fi 6 AX200 160MHz (Wifi5 (802.11ac/VHT), AES-CCMP, 866.7Mbps)

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 10 Professional 10.0.19042
Platform Compliance : x64

Performance Enhancing Tips
Warning 2513 : TPM not detected. Some security features are unavailable.
Tip 3 : Double-click tip or press Enter while a tip is selected for more information about the tip.



THINGS I HAVE TRIED: Everything.

I mean it, everything, I have searched here and all over for anything related to 11 rack editor not opening and I have tried everything people have suggested.

1 Monitor. Have tried all the various installations, compatibility options, you name it, I have been at it for months.

Window isn't hiding, the program doesn't populate in the taskbar, but it is there in Task Manager (ctrl,alt,del) and I have Lasso (similar to Task Manager) too which I can also see it populate there.

So it is running in the background, not giving a taskbar option, so I can't click on anything to bring a potential window off screen back in screen.


This is breaking my heart.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-16-2021, 01:37 AM
Heir-Apparent Heir-Apparent is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Australia
Posts: 11
Default Re: 11R Editor - Avid Pushing Us Away

I've replied, still waiting for the reply to be approved.....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-16-2021, 01:38 AM
Heir-Apparent Heir-Apparent is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Australia
Posts: 11
Default Re: 11R Editor - Avid Pushing Us Away

SiSoftware Sandra

ID
Host Name : Nathe-PC
Workgroup : WORKGROUP

Computer
Model : MSI MS-7C60
Serial Number : To be fille***********
Chassis : MSI Desktop
Mainboard : MSI TRX40 PRO WIFI (MS-7C60)
Serial Number : L2161*****
BIOS : AMI (OEM) 2.75 01/15/2021
NUMA Support : 2 Unit(s)
Total Memory : 128GB DIMM DDR4

Processors
Processor : AMD Ryzen Threadripper 3970X 32-Core Processor (4C 8T 4.15GHz, 32x 512kB L2, 8x 16MB L3)
Socket/Slot : SP3r2 MCP (TR4)

Chipset
Memory Controller : AMD F19 (Ryzen3/TR3 Starship) Host Bridge 100MHz, 128GB DIMM DDR4 3.6GHz

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : G.Skill/Hynix (Hyundai) F4-3600C18-32GVK 32GB DDR4 2Rx8 PC4-28800U DDR4-3604 (19-19-19-44 4-63-21-7)
Memory Module : G.Skill/Hynix (Hyundai) F4-3600C18-32GVK 32GB DDR4 2Rx8 PC4-28800U DDR4-3604 (19-19-19-44 4-63-21-7)
Memory Module : G.Skill/Hynix (Hyundai) F4-3600C18-32GVK 32GB DDR4 2Rx8 PC4-28800U DDR4-3604 (19-19-19-44 4-63-21-7)
Memory Module : G.Skill/Hynix (Hyundai) F4-3600C18-32GVK 32GB DDR4 2Rx8 PC4-28800U DDR4-3604 (19-19-19-44 4-63-21-7)

Video System
Monitor/Panel : AUS ASUS PG43U
(3840x2160, 42.5")
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 (10496S 82C SM6.5 1.75GHz, 6MB L2, 23.8GB 19.5GHz 384-bit, PCIe 4.0 x16)

Graphics Processor
CUDA : nVidia NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 (5248S 82C SM8.6 1.75GHz, 6MB L2, 24GB 19GHz 384-bit)
OpenCL : nVidia NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 (5248S 82C SM3.0 1.75GHz, 6MB L2, 24GB 19GHz 384-bit)
D3D 11 : NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 (10496S 82C SM12.1 1.75GHz, 6MB L2, 23.8GB 19GHz 384-bit)
OpenGL : NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090/PCIe/SSE2 (10496S 82C SM4.60 1.75GHz, 6MB L2, 24GB 19GHz 384-bit)

Storage Devices
Disk : AMD-RAIDArray 2 (999.6GB, RAID, SCSI-5)
Disk : AMD-RAIDArray 4 (8TB, RAID, SCSI-5)
Disk : AMD-RAIDArray 6 (999.6GB, RAID, SCSI-5)
Disk : AMD-RAIDArray 7 (8TB, RAID, SCSI-5)
Optical : HL-DT-STBD-RE BH16NS55 (RAID, BD-RE, DVD+-RW, CD-RW)

Logical Storage Devices
Volume A (E:) : 931GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ AMD-RAIDArray 2 (999.6GB, RAID, SCSI-5)
Recovery : 529MB (NTFS, 4kB) @ AMD-RAIDArray 4 (8TB, RAID, SCSI-5)
Hard Disk (C:) : 7TB (NTFS, 4kB) @ AMD-RAIDArray 4 (8TB, RAID, SCSI-5)
Volume B (F:) : 931GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ AMD-RAIDArray 6 (999.6GB, RAID, SCSI-5)
Mirror (D:) : 7TB (NTFS, 4kB) @ AMD-RAIDArray 7 (8TB, RAID, SCSI-5)
Hard Disk : 95MB (FAT32, 1kB) @ AMD-RAIDArray 4 (8TB, RAID, SCSI-5)
Optical Drive (G:) : N/A @ HL-DT-STBD-RE BH16NS55 (RAID, BD-RE, DVD+-RW, CD-RW)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller : MSI FCH LPC Bridge
Audio Device : Gigabyte GA102 High Definition Audio Controller
Audio Codec : nVidia 009A
Audio Device : MSI F17/19 (Ryzen2/3, TR/2) HD Audio Controller
Disk Controller : MSI AMD-RAID Bottom Device
Disk Controller : AMD AMD-RAID Bottom Device
Disk Controller : AMD AMD-RAID Bottom Device
Disk Controller : Phison Electronics Corporation AMD-RAID Bottom Device
Disk Controller : Phison Electronics Corporation AMD-RAID Bottom Device
Disk Controller : Phison Electronics Corporation AMD-RAID Bottom Device
Disk Controller : Phison Electronics Corporation AMD-RAID Bottom Device
USB Controller : MSI F17/19 (Ryzen2/3, TR/2) USB 3.0 Host Controller
USB Controller : MSI F17/19 (Ryzen2/3, TR/2) USB 3.0 Host Controller
USB Controller : MSI ASM3242 USB 3.2 Host Controller
USB Controller : AMD F19 (Ryzen3/TR3 Matisse) USB 3.0 Host Controller
USB Controller : AMD F19 (Ryzen3/TR3 Matisse) USB 3.0 Host Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller : AMD SB900 SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer v4 (600x600, Colour)
Printer : Microsoft Print To PDF (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)

Biometrics
Voice : Analog NUI Voice Virtual Sensor (Voice)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Intel(R) I211 Gigabit Network Connection #2 (Ethernet)
Network Adapter : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network) (Ethernet)
Network Adapter : Intel(R) I211 Gigabit Network Connection (Ethernet)
Wireless Adapter : Intel(R) Wi-Fi 6 AX200 160MHz (Wifi5 (802.11ac/VHT), AES-CCMP, 866.7Mbps)

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 10 Professional 10.0.19042
Platform Compliance : x64

Performance Enhancing Tips
Warning 2513 : TPM not detected. Some security features are unavailable.
Tip 3 : Double-click tip or press Enter while a tip is selected for more information about the tip.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-16-2021, 01:47 AM
Heir-Apparent Heir-Apparent is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Australia
Posts: 11
Default Re: 11R Editor - Avid Pushing Us Away

I wrote a full on reply and it's vanished into the ether.

When I say I have tried everything I mean everything.

I have searched all forums and everywhere and any thread/forum/response that has said do a/b/c I have tried.

1 monitor, I have changed scaling and resolution.

The window isn't off screen because 11R Editor does not populate in the taskbar, so there is no window to move into screen.

It does however populate in Task Manager and Lasso (similar to Task Manager).

People have said delete the app data/Avid folder, it does not populate at all so there is nothing to delete.

I have no issue opening the 11R Control Panel, that window opens fine, scaling is tiny for a 4k screen, but it is there.

I have tried different versions of Windows 10.

I have made sure the 11R is plugged into a USB 2.0 socket.

Everything I do and have tried, the result is the same, no window, doesn't populate in task bar, but is visible in Task Manager (ctrl,alt,delete)

Have tried every combination of compatibility with scaling options, same result every time.


The thing is, it's probably a 1 hour solution from someone in house to ensure 11R Editor works fine with Windows 10, max, 20 hour job for someone at Avid.

The amount of hours it would cost Avid to make an 11R Editor that works fine with W10, how many hours are wasted by us trying to figure it out.

Have tried everything since this new PC, literally been at this for months, I messaged ages ago and gave up, I'm back, I don't want my 11R to become dead to me.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-16-2021, 02:03 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,966
Default Re: 11R Editor - Avid Pushing Us Away

Thanks for all the info, I was curious enough to try installing the editor again myself but all the editor download links I know of are broken. Can you post your installer online somewhere?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-16-2021, 03:01 AM
Heir-Apparent Heir-Apparent is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Australia
Posts: 11
Default Re: 11R Editor - Avid Pushing Us Away

They make you sign up for marketing bs then the download starts, here:

https://connect.avid.com/eleven-rack-editor.html
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-16-2021, 10:31 AM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Earth
Posts: 10,105
Default Re: 11R Editor - Avid Pushing Us Away

Quote:
Originally Posted by Heir-Apparent View Post
Doesn't open, I have tried everything and scoured the internet for months, after building my new PC, no more Editor...
Welcome to the community.

Can you please try the solution posted by Benoni and let us know the results?

If needed, the Editor can be downloaded from the KB (links in the middle of the page here).
__________________

Last edited by jeffro; 11-16-2021 at 10:33 AM. Reason: Added link for the Editor d/l in the KB.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-16-2021, 02:31 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,966
Default Re: 11R Editor - Avid Pushing Us Away

And to check stuff I just did an install of the editor on Windows 10, 21H1 19043.1348. On a fairly clean system,

What I did:

Run the Editor installer, let it install Pace iLok components
<DO NOT REBOOT>
Run the Editor installer again, to let in install the actual Editor.

(then realize this isnt' working)... Download the latest ILM (5.4.1) and install that. No need to sign into ILM.

Reboot.

Run the Editor, it works. (now I actually tested that in a VMware Fusion VM so it's slow but it does works with USB set to USB 2 compatibility).

No other problems for me, no need to do Benoni tricks.

If this does not work for you, and you carefully try following the Benoni video instructions (especially to make sure you are showing hidden files) then I would try on a clean Windows install.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid MC editor setting up for ProTools and Mix kylerboudreau Post - Surround - Video 6 12-09-2021 11:18 PM
Avid 2trk editor Audiofarm Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 03-24-2011 01:01 PM
Creating an AAF or OMF in Pro Tools for Avid Editor sundontlie Post - Surround - Video 6 01-06-2011 12:51 PM
Do you prefer OMF or AAF from an Avid editor cananball Post - Surround - Video 6 09-28-2010 07:02 PM
Avid editor - needs trim like function Simpson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-10-2005 09:19 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com