Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-21-2011, 12:08 PM
RickT RickT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Gold Bar, Wa
Posts: 25
Default Digi 003 Mixer VS. Mbox Pro

I recently purchased the Mbox Pro with PT9 and now that I have it I am wondering if maybe I should've gone with the Digi 300 Mixer instead. Does anyone now if the preamps are the same in both units? I'm assuming the Digi 003 is compatible with PT9 Windows 7 64bit correct?
__________________
Windows 10 - Pro Tools 2018.12.0 - Quantum 2626 - Axe-FX III
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-21-2011, 01:33 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,434
Default Re: Digi 300 Mixer VS. Mbox Pro

Assume you mean the 003? Preamps should be very similar as they all hit the market around the same time. The 003(which I have used since the first production run) has been solid and sounds good. Most of us that use them, also use the digital ins as a way to improve the input path. My setup runs a Focusrite ISA428 on the lightpipe input, along with an API lunchbox with some nice "character" pres(the focusrite are clean and honest). For me, the single most handy feature was actually the transport buttons, but having said that, I now have that available on a Presonus FaderPort, so you might consider a 3rd party interface that would offer you future expansion. For instance, an M-Audio Profire2626 or a Focusrite Saffire LS56 would both be expandable to 24 inputs(at 44.1 or 48K) while the 003 tops out at 18. As nice as the 003 is, I don't work the surface much as I just find myself wanting 16 or 24 faders(but some absolutely love it)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-21-2011, 01:38 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,844
Default Re: Digi 300 Mixer VS. Mbox Pro

If you're talking about the new Mboxes, I don't know about the preamps, but the A/D and D/A conversion are way better than the 003, so I don't know if you'd be happy switching.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digi 002 Mixer audioxsense Buy & Sell 2 03-10-2013 09:14 AM
Mbox Out>Outboard Mixer(Tascam m-208)>Mbox in??? bblaze11 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 08-11-2010 10:01 PM
WHICH MIXER IS BEST FOR DIGI 001 ? seared music 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 04-11-2003 02:11 PM
what mixer should i buy for my Digi 001???? jdom1023 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 01-30-2003 10:46 PM
Anyone using a mixer with the Digi 001? foreigndog 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 24 03-08-2001 08:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com