Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-04-2003, 08:35 PM
spigots spigots is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Arlington, TX, USA
Posts: 504
Default Sonic No Noise for Pro Tools

Hello.

I am wondering:
A. If this product really exists
B. If anyone is using/has used it

Thanks,

Frank
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-05-2003, 10:21 AM
The Chinese The Chinese is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 603
Default Re: Sonic No Noise for Pro Tools

Yes it exists.
I am using it right now.
It is sweet.
I am yelling at my boss to buy it (I'm just using the 30day demo)
This stuff absolutely ROCKS.
-Todd A.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-05-2003, 11:18 AM
Pietari Koskinen Pietari Koskinen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 259
Default Re: Sonic No Noise for Pro Tools

How it compares to Waves restoration stuff?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-05-2003, 05:09 PM
O.G. Killa's Avatar
O.G. Killa O.G. Killa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,152
Default Re: Sonic No Noise for Pro Tools

way better than the waves restoration plugins...much more transparent...

Although, I don't really like how it interfaces with PT (as of yet anyway...it's growing on me as i get used to it). I'd been using NoNoise in Sonic Studio HD for about two years and loved it. When the studio I work for switched over to PT for editing I was nervous because there wasn't any good noise removal software for PT available. When Sonic NoNoise came out I think I was pretty much the first person to buy it! LOL

Anyway, it seems to only work within your selection. NoNoise in Sonic usually looked at the audio around the area you selected, and then tried to figure out what the audio would have done if there were no click in the selected area. I've found that if I select too small a selection in PT it won't work well and if i select too large a selection it won't work well. This makes me think that Sonic for PT only looks at the selected area and not the contiguous audio to the selection as well. In SonicStudio you never had to worry about this..you just selected an area and it would usually look and fix the clicks inside the selection and sometime just outside the selected area too (if it found any).

After you hit process in PT it then cuts the selection and turns it into its own region. a lot of the time I can hear a click when it passes the edit points of this new region so then manually crossfading is needed.

The other day it freaked out on me too...I was using manual declicker...and after a while, anything I would decrackle would just be all fullscale noise on the positive slope (no negitive slope). So I restarted PT and it was back to normal.

Honestly, I use NoNoise just about everyday and frequently I'm using it all day long. I've tried Waves, and Arboretum and a few others...but none are as transparent and powerful as NoNoise. Period! Once you learn how to use it and how to correctly set all the parameters, there is almost nothing out there that can compare. Actually, I've heard good things about Cedar too, but haven't had the chance to check them out yet. From what I've heard they are the only ones that are on par with Sonic's NoNoise. Unfortunately I believe they only work with Sadie and there is no PT plugin available.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Derek Jones
Sound Engineer / Producer / Composer

Derek Jones Linkedin
Megatrax Recording Studios
Megatrax Studios Yelp Page
A-list Music Artist Page
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-06-2003, 01:14 AM
gugu gugu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 370
Default Re: Sonic No Noise for Pro Tools

I only see a Windows demo on Digi site.

Is it possible to find a Mac version?

gugu
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-08-2003, 06:41 AM
spigots spigots is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Arlington, TX, USA
Posts: 504
Default Re: Sonic No Noise for Pro Tools

There is a Cedar for PT (DSN 2000) which is said to be outstanding, but it's 3X more $$$ than No-Noise. I think we're going to get No-Noise.

Frank
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-08-2003, 09:23 PM
The Chinese The Chinese is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 603
Default Re: Sonic No Noise for Pro Tools

The DSN 2000 isn't a plug in-It's a hardware box that is controlled via a USB interface that opens as a plug-In. It's awesome, we have one of those too. However, it's application is different than the No-Noise stuff-there isn't any decrackle, interpolation, eq.
-Todd A.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-09-2003, 10:20 AM
Donnie Donnie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 72
Default Re: Sonic No Noise for Pro Tools

Is there a Mac demo anywhere?

Donnie
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-12-2003, 07:17 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Sonic No Noise for Pro Tools

The Mac demo of NoNOISE has been posted on the product webpage:

http://www.digidesign.com/products/d...roduct_id=3180

-Alex
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-13-2003, 07:51 AM
Joris de Man Joris de Man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 116
Default Re: Sonic No Noise for Pro Tools

Is there a chance of an Audiosuite demo (I dunno, preview mode only perhaps?) for us lesser mortals without an HD rig?

Cheers,

Joris
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sonic No Noise on G4 HD 4 Bookerv12 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 06-21-2010 06:12 AM
Sonic No-Noise on G5 PCIE JJC Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 05-08-2006 09:57 PM
Sonic No-Noise cjguitar Post - Surround - Video 0 06-29-2004 05:34 PM
Sonic Noise Noise Manual? Great Divide Studios Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 06-08-2003 05:31 PM
Sonic solutions No-Noise tnie Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-23-2002 10:09 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:56 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com