Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-05-2009, 03:50 PM
elsterNJ elsterNJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 25
Default Help!! Can't import the selected video file. (Pro Tools 8)

The file and file path do not contain any out of the ordinary characters such as \. It is a .wmv file. The error message that comes up is Can't import the selected video file because it does not contain any video frames. Using Pro Tools LE 8 on Windows XP. Have an Mbox2. Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-05-2009, 04:27 PM
sleadley sleadley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Sydney,NSW,Australia
Posts: 957
Default Re: Help!! Can't import the selected video file. (Pro Tools 8)

Try converting a small part of the file to DV or MJPEG with http://www.squared5.com/svideo/mpeg-streamclip-win.html and see what happens.
This is a must have program for both Mac and PC. Best of all it is free.
hope this helps
Simon L.
__________________
Plan for the worst, Hope for the Best.
www.trackdown.com.au
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-27-2010, 07:22 PM
tecuancho tecuancho is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: France
Posts: 1
Default Re: Help!! Can't import the selected video file. (Pro Tools 8)

Hi.

Well I had the same problem and I tried changing the name of the file and work fine now.

Ex:

Old name: BLOQUE 04 CAP 05 TC VISIBLE-DV NTSC 16/9 23.98.mov
New name: BLOQUE 04 CAP 05 TC VISIBLE-DV NTSC.mov

Pro Tools has big problems with Data and Metadata Names.
The metadata names contain (,./';!@#$%%^&*) and if the data name contain the this characters PT crash !




Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't import the selected video anal-log 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 04-12-2010 02:34 PM
cannot import second video file! different frame rate message. crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 10-14-2008 10:10 AM
IMPORT VIDEO ERROR Audio FILE alx002 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-01-2008 01:31 PM
ProTools HD 7.4 - Can't import video file. HELP!!!!!! jayprotools Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 04-09-2008 06:16 PM
can't import video file into the session.... EminTR 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 03-24-2007 10:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com