Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-07-2009, 09:56 AM
GloryIsSilent GloryIsSilent is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 101
Default Consolidation

What is the easiest/best way to consolidate a project for sending to another studio? I am using pt8 with an 003.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-07-2009, 10:02 AM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Consolidation

What do mean exactly?... Consolidating regions?..Sending a session via email?
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-07-2009, 11:15 AM
GloryIsSilent GloryIsSilent is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 101
Default Re: Consolidation

Render each track starting at 0:00 with or without effects so it can be easily loaded into another daw or multitrack.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-07-2009, 11:27 AM
Phil Ogden Phil Ogden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,110
Default Re: Consolidation

And export a MIDI file if there are tempo changes.

http://www.myspace.com/philogg
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-07-2009, 11:28 AM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Consolidation

Well yeah its best (in most cases) to consolidate to 0 especially if u aren't going back to PT; U also, if ur done with editing, pocketing tracks, etc. to get rid of the extra playlist u aren't using; Make sure u delete all the Unused regions(which is something I do unconsciously throughout a session) IF u really want certain effects on tracks that u feel can't go without it, then re-record that track with it's effects but always leave the original; If u got VI's, u definitely wanna record those to an audio track & disable the instument tracks as well as track plug ins just in case the spot u go too doesn't have what u have Plug in wise; Name all ur tracks accordingly; if u make a Save Copy as, make sure u CHECK the all audio files option otherwise ur screwed on'eim; U may know most of this but I just trying not to leave anything out... If u drag the session to another drive make sure u open it up & change the disc allocation to the drive its on, close & re-open to be SURE... I think that may about get it...Anybody else?
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-08-2009, 06:20 AM
GloryIsSilent GloryIsSilent is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 101
Default Re: Consolidation

help?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-08-2009, 06:55 AM
Phil Ogden Phil Ogden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,110
Default Re: Consolidation

The above posts (yours included) have answered your question. There's no magic feature in PT that makes a universally acceptable session format. The nearest is OMF, but it requires add-on PT software (DigiTranslator) and is far from reliable.

http://www.myspace.com/philogg
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-08-2009, 08:54 AM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Consolidation

Quote:
Originally Posted by GloryIsSilent View Post
help?
???
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-08-2009, 09:02 AM
GloryIsSilent GloryIsSilent is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 101
Default Re: Consolidation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Ogden View Post
The above posts (yours included) have answered your question. There's no magic feature in PT that makes a universally acceptable session format. The nearest is OMF, but it requires add-on PT software (DigiTranslator) and is far from reliable.

http://www.myspace.com/philogg
So there's no way to export a multiple tracks at once in PT?!

That seems incredibly strange considering most every other DAW I've used can do this easily.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-08-2009, 09:12 AM
Phil Ogden Phil Ogden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,110
Default Re: Consolidation

You can use 'Export Regions as Files' from the regions bin (drop down menu). This will do multiple exports simultaneously but they won't have any RTAS processing applied and you'll have to consolidate to full track length first.

http://www.myspace.com/philogg
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fades on Consolidation sszeryk Tips & Tricks 2 05-20-2010 09:47 AM
Consolidation? Rome630 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-18-2006 06:26 PM
Track consolidation bug? Jaysus Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 04-30-2006 11:35 AM
consolidation ? jata Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 10-16-2005 12:24 PM
consolidation sid rosen Tips & Tricks 2 11-12-2004 12:28 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:32 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com