Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-19-2022, 08:08 PM
BHM Productions LLC BHM Productions LLC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Posts: 3
Default Diverting Back To W7 to Run PT10

In short... Yesterday I purchased the iLok PT10 license (through legal iLok manager), then went to Avid for PT10 download on Dell Inspiron15 5000; W10 (21H1). The download began, and then a message (not in exact words) appeared saying that the download being attempted may be harmful etc, but I chose to try anyway. PT10 install page appeared, and then a message said restart was needed to complete the install. I waited, and then suddenly the Dell Inspiron screen went blue upon attempted restart, except it had a message code saying there was an error and W10 could not restart etc. It attempted on its own to restart a couple of times, and then attempted on it's own to repair itself, but ultimately took me to what appeared to be safe mode. A few options wer e available to choose. I tried them all a couple of times. Neither, this thing called "image screen" or something, restore, nor system recovery*** worked. So Dell is out for now. I've only had it since Aug 2020.

I know this is a PT forum (predominantly) but maybe someone knows a little about the Windows updates in regards to running PT10 on a previous W7 startup that will stop providing updates soon. Will the laptops with no support eventually stop working down the line? Are we all destined for newer laptops we don't actually need just to run PT we will never own? Will we ultimately lose legacy PT's?
My true question is what do any of you think about diverting back to W7 with this Windows updates expiring in 2023?
__________________
Pro Tools MP9 Windows 7 Lenovo Thinkpad t410

Record Label On Traxsource
http://www.traxsource.com/label/1555...sentertainment

Follow me: http://www.instagram.com/ladynamedtracie
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-20-2022, 09:17 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,435
Default Re: Diverting Back To W7 to Run PT10

While you wait, click the link near the top of this(and every) page named Help Us Help You and have a good read.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-20-2022, 09:19 PM
sw rec sw rec is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 6,042
Default Re: Diverting Back To W7 to Run PT10

In my own humble opinion, why invest ANY time & resources on a known end of life operating system? I’m sure you have your reasons?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-20-2022, 10:35 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,480
Default Re: Diverting Back To W7 to Run PT10

Quote:
Originally Posted by BHM Productions LLC View Post
... My true question is what do any of you think about diverting back to W7 ...
Bad idea.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win11 / Intel 11th Gen i9 5.1GHz / 64Gb DDR4-3600 / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win10 / older HP ProBook with i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy (works!): PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for audio/video demo
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-29-2022, 07:56 AM
subzero subzero is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: derbys uk
Posts: 4
Default Re: Diverting Back To W7 to Run PT10

God no,why revert back to 7,got to say W11 pro is a joy to use with PTs,somewhat annoyed Macs seem to be getting the new Aux system and us on windows aseem to be stuck with the old one,but other than that everything runs really well,in fact the latest PT update is a little bit snappier loading up on W11
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-29-2022, 12:05 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,927
Default Re: Diverting Back To W7 to Run PT10

Quote:
Originally Posted by subzero View Post
God no, why revert back to 7, got to say W11 pro is a joy to use with PTs, somewhat annoyed Macs seem to be getting the new Aux system and us on windows seem to be stuck with the old one, but other than that everything runs really well, in fact the latest PT update is a little bit snappier loading up on W11
Agreed. I never even used Windows 7. I went from my old computer with Windows XP, to a new computer in 2013 with Windows 8 to Windows 8.1 to now the latest Windows 10 and Pro Tools 2022.07 and soon 2022.09. Hardly a hiccup and backward compatibility Apple users can only dream about.

To the OP, you can get a Reinstatement Code and get up to the latest Pro Tools. Not sure why you'd want to stay at Pro Tools 10.

As to Aux I/O, I'm not sure, since it works with Core Audio, if Windows will ever see it. Since I have RME's TotalMix and RME's drivers are multi-client, the routing Aux I/O apparently affords I already have.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
SonoBus
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Options for Remote Direction
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT10 import MP4 file plays back slow tfrazier1964 Pro Tools 10 2 07-25-2020 08:24 AM
I need HELP downgrading from PT10 Trial back to my PT9 without my disc??? lscruggs28 Pro Tools 10 1 11-08-2012 01:50 PM
I'm done with pt10 going back to 9 need some info drewblue macOS 22 05-16-2012 04:50 PM
Can't relink to files after session has come back from PT10 senorsensor macOS 0 02-14-2012 10:10 AM
Back to Pro Tools 9 from PT10 SickTheory Windows 3 11-11-2011 02:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com