Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-21-2022, 04:21 PM
senghor senghor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Finland, Europe
Posts: 319
Default How to backup PT sessions

Hi,

How to backup correctly PT sessions ie. from a sdd to hdd? Are You using a proper program to do that?

I have just copy/paste my sessions and I know one day I will have corrupt files.

Thanks.
__________________
Win10 Home
Intel i7-127000K @3,6GHz, RAM 16GB
UA Apollo Solo and pre-amps, Pro Tools 2022
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-21-2022, 04:36 PM
Philthy Philthy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 1,322
Default Re: How to backup PT sessions

20 years I've been doing it like you describe on Mac... I just drag across at the end of each day. No corruption yet. I've had drives die but that's unavoidable... I keep minimum 2 copies until a project is complete.
__________________
Phil Mann
Silk City Music Factory - CT Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-21-2022, 04:52 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,936
Default Re: How to backup PT sessions

How you do it is one thing.

You also need to think about practice recovering sessions... ideally test on a different computer so that things like content files not included in the session folder are detected.

There are many options, you can drag and drop folders, or write a script that zips them up, adds a date to the zip file name, etc. simple scripts can be great... as long as you test periodically. And what happens when the target drive is full? Or the same name file exists on the drive, or there is some error.. same for commercial backup software... know where the error log is and check it periodically.

And then just backing up to one HDD may not be enough, how many separate HDD copies? where are they kept? How many off-site? What about copies to cloud storage as well.

And that's Pro Tools sessions? What happens when the boot drive fails or is corrupted? How do you recover the boot drive?

Also how do you save finished projects, the exported/bounced files or stems, make sure they are backed up as well.

The right approach is not always to just make new backups over old, you may need to roll back in time, in which case things like zipped folders with a date in the name are handy.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-22-2022, 02:49 AM
danyg danyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Belgium
Posts: 277
Default Re: How to backup PT sessions

i use the software CCC. Set and forget...
__________________
Mac Pro 12 core 3.46Ghz - 64 Gb ram - SSD 500 Gb - HD1 2T - HD2 2T - OS 13. - Mac Book Pro retina- OS 13. - SSL Alphalink convertor - Pro Tools 12 native - SSL Matrix console - Logic Pro X
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-22-2022, 02:55 AM
thin ice thin ice is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 881
Default Re: How to backup PT sessions

I run Time Machine at the end of each working day and also a weekly copy & paste backup of sessions.

The more important thing is to use "save copy in" as a backup when you are done and keep three copies, hopefully one off site. Just copy & paste leaves you open to not gathering any files that may be in the wrong directory. This can happen when someone sends you a session to mix.
__________________
Mac Mini M1 16 GB
OS 12.5.1
PT 2022.7.0

Mac Pro Quad Core
OS 10.8
PT9HD
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-22-2022, 10:46 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,927
Default Re: How to backup PT sessions

Zip to OneDrive, copy/paste, image my Audio Drive Nightly with Macrium Reflect and, when necessary, copy to my Storage Drive and burn a data DVD.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
SonoBus
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Options for Remote Direction
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-22-2022, 12:10 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,723
Default Re: How to backup PT sessions

Quote:
Originally Posted by danyg View Post
i use the software CCC. Set and forget...
+100
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-22-2022, 12:21 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,775
Default Re: How to backup PT sessions

Quote:
Originally Posted by danyg View Post
i use the software CCC. Set and forget...
+me
But Carbon Copy Cloner is mac only, sadly.
And the OP is on windows.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini M1, 16GB RAM. 512GBinternal(3000MB/s),2TB(1300MB/s),2TB(350MB/s)
MacOS 11.6.8. PT 2020.12.1 (Reinstatement on hold for M3 macs and AS native PT)
Topping D50 DAC, Dynaudio BM6p, Artist Mix, SSL UC1, EuControl on iPad.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-22-2022, 12:34 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,773
Default Re: How to backup PT sessions

I backup to cloud storage, manually backup to external hard drives, burn sessions to BluRay and use Time Machine. You can never have too many backups!
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
FocusritePro 40 (2)
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
Rascal Audio Tonebuss 24
Slate Digital VRS8

Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P
i7 6700K 4.1 GHz
32GB DDR4
macOS 10.15.7
UAD-2 Octo Core PCIe
Pro Tools HD 2022.10
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-22-2022, 03:46 PM
resonatee resonatee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 59
Default Re: How to backup PT sessions

Quote:
Originally Posted by senghor View Post
Hi,

How to backup correctly PT sessions ie. from a sdd to hdd?
All of the above. Also,

This video shows how : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=--8nj43kgyg
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Safest way to Backup sessions? ian Bourgal Storage Subsystems 4 01-17-2015 12:02 PM
Best way to backup PT sessions? chieflh General Discussion 7 03-21-2010 05:14 AM
What to Backup PT sessions to? mahjorbidet Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 09-04-2003 01:48 PM
How do you backup your golden sessions? DigiG4 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 06-10-2003 02:29 AM
backup of sessions from a Mac, copied on a PC... jeronimo General Discussion 0 08-07-2001 07:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:55 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com