Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 08-14-2022, 12:05 PM
mab780 mab780 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: Devon. UK.
Posts: 12
Default Re: D-Command faders not working

Thanks very much its2loud.

I had already swapped out the fader power supply and this made no difference, so I'm narrowing the problem down slowly, looking for suspect boards or cables primarily.

I will certainly check out your links once I am closer to finding out where the fault lies.

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-14-2022, 10:50 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,224
Default Re: D-Command faders not working

Have you got a multimeter handy? I would check for continuity between the fader PSU heatsink and ground/chassis of both the new and old (once reinstalled) supplies just to make sure they are the same. Sager has a strange habit of sometimes configuring/insulating their PSUs different between production runs. The Avid supplies float all of the transistors from the grounded heat sinks using thermal insulation pads. A lot of Sager replacements tie the transistors directly to the heatsinks which get grounded when installed in the D Command.

In the latter, grounding the heat sinks will also drag the voltage rails down and it will look exactly like the PSU has failed again. It can also be accompanied by a lot of audible transformer buzzing. Running it in this configuration for any decent period of time will fry the PSU.


Factory resets can also solve a lot of weird issues.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au
Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.7. OSX 12.5.1 HDN. DAD DX-32R. DADman 5.3.4.2. Mac Pro iMac Pro. 10 Core 3.0gHz. 64Gb. BM Decklink. Sync HD. Dolby Mastering Suite 3.7.2.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-15-2022, 02:20 AM
mab780 mab780 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: Devon. UK.
Posts: 12
Default Re: D-Command faders not working

That's very interesting LDS. I hadn't heard of problems like that before.

I will check both of the PSU's before going any further.

To be honest, I don't think that is the problem here because I have swapped the supplies between the Main unit and a 16 channel fader pack and both PSU's work with the fader pack perfectly, suggesting that the fault is not with the PSU at all.

I will run the check though, just to make absolutely sure.
Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-15-2022, 09:19 AM
mab780 mab780 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: Devon. UK.
Posts: 12
Default Re: D-Command faders not working

OK A little bit of an update on the fader problems I've been having.

Today I swapped the Fader Motor Controller board from the faulty eight channels (Faders 1 to 8) to one of the working sections (Faders 17 to 24)
The problem followed the FMC across to channels 17-24 suggesting its the FMC itself that has the problem.

Has anyone had issues with FMC cards on older D-Commands in the past? Are they user serviceable? I have e-mailed Lee Engineering here in the UK, but I'm still waiting for a response.

Also, does anyone know if new FMC's are still available for older blue D-Commands and if so, how much they might cost for someone in the UK?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-16-2022, 08:50 AM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,151
Default Re: D-Command faders not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by mab780 View Post
OK A little bit of an update on the fader problems I've been having.

Today I swapped the Fader Motor Controller board from the faulty eight channels (Faders 1 to 8) to one of the working sections (Faders 17 to 24)
The problem followed the FMC across to channels 17-24 suggesting its the FMC itself that has the problem.

Has anyone had issues with FMC cards on older D-Commands in the past? Are they user serviceable? I have e-mailed Lee Engineering here in the UK, but I'm still waiting for a response.

Also, does anyone know if new FMC's are still available for older blue D-Commands and if so, how much they might cost for someone in the UK?
you might need to buy another used d-command for parts. I am contemplating the same for my d control as I really like the icons.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-17-2022, 02:26 AM
mab780 mab780 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: Devon. UK.
Posts: 12
Default Re: D-Command faders not working

You're correct, Arche3. I think a 'donor' D-Command might be a good investment.

Trouble is, since COVID the price of a used unit seems to have gone up quite a bit here in the UK. I guess people started to work from home more and these controllers are so compact, yet versatile, they are still very popular and well liked by end users.

When you compare the prices to current Avid products with similar features, its easy to see that many users simply can't afford to upgrade Hopefully prices will begin to fall back to pre-pandemic levels shortly.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-30-2022, 04:15 AM
mab780 mab780 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: Devon. UK.
Posts: 12
Default Re: D-Command faders not working

Another quick question regarding the FMC.... Does anyone know if the FMC used in the D-Command is the same part as used in the D-Control?

Are they interchangeable? I guess they are doing exactly the same job, but would an FMC removed from a D-Control work in a D-Command?

Any advice would be gratefully received.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Faders off Eucon command not working Led Artist Series 4 07-24-2016 05:39 PM
FS: D-Command ES 24 Faders / like new Numarek Buy & Sell 0 04-30-2013 06:12 AM
Command 8 - more than 8 faders? JazzyJ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-08-2012 08:05 AM
D-Command... faders only possible? Hardin ICON & C|24 2 11-21-2011 01:58 PM
002 and Command 8 faders (not together) Bixby 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 07-22-2004 08:17 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:53 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com