Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-08-2003, 11:00 AM
MarkGenero MarkGenero is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Natick, MA, US
Posts: 157
Default How do I know 001 is locked to my mini-me\'s clock?

I want to use my mini me as master clock for 001 and Pro Tools LE 5.3.1. The mini me is connected via rca spdif to the 001. I set it up in the hardware menu with "optical format" set to ADAT and "clock" set to spdif. I'm assuming that I'm thus using the mini me as master clock. However, I don't know how to confirm this.

As a test, I turn off the mini me, expecting pro tools to tell me it lost sync, but nothing happens. The program just continues to run as before. Everything works fine. There doesn't seem to be any way to confirm which clock is being used.

Any ideas how I can confirm which clock is being used?

Thanks,
Mark
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-08-2003, 11:46 AM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,916
Default Re: How do I know 001 is locked to my mini-me\'s clock?

The mini-me has 2 channels, right?

I think you should use the optical spdif setting instead of adat. If you set ptle to adat, ptle ofcourse will look for adat, but cant find it, so it switches to its internal clock. Goto the setupmenu, and set spdif to optical.

Tinkering with the syncsource while ptle is synced to it will most surely gives some responses from ptle, like the audio mutes for a second, and playback stops with an error, or you get an error telling you need more cpu-power.
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-08-2003, 04:15 PM
espron espron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Norway
Posts: 327
Default Re: How do I know 001 is locked to my mini-me\'s clock?

Can you set the sample rate manually on the mini-me? If so, try the following: open a session which audio is recorded at 48kHz. Se the mini-me to 44,1kHz. If your audio plays back slow/pitched down, you are syncing the digi001's clock to the mini-me.

good luck and hope this helps!

Espen
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-08-2003, 06:26 PM
MarkGenero MarkGenero is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Natick, MA, US
Posts: 157
Default Re: How do I know 001 is locked to my mini-me\'s clock?

thanks guys, but...

Bastian: I'm not sure what you mean by "set spdif to optical." There are two menus which must be set in the hardware setup:

1. The "optical format menu" gives you two choices: ADAT or SPDIF.

2. The "clock" menu then gives you different choices depending on whether you have selected ADAT or SPDIF in the "optical format menu". Selecting ADAT gives you three choices in the clock menu: internal, spdif and optical. Selecting "optical" in the "optical format menu" only gives you two choices: internal and optical. I am choosing to select "ADAT" for the "optical format" and "spdif" for the clock. I assume that's right, but I'm not sure since I can't seem to confirm things.

Also the manual states that if you select "spdif" in the "optical format menu" then pro tools will look for spdif in the optical inputs and if it doesn't find it will revert to internal clock, which seems to be the opposite of what you said (I think).

Espron: I'll try your suggestion.

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-09-2003, 03:02 AM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,916
Default Re: How do I know 001 is locked to my mini-me\'s clock?

To set the sync to spdif optical (yes, that is what you need, no adat), goto setup/hardware setups, set the optical format to "SPDIF" and the clock to "optical (adat)".

IMO this menu is labeled incorrectly. They call it adat, but mean the toslink connector, wich is both used by alesis for their adat-stuff and by other manufacturs for spdif optical.
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-09-2003, 03:14 AM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,916
Default Re: How do I know 001 is locked to my mini-me\'s clock?

Oh...be sure to do that WITHOU A SESSION LOADED!

Changing those session can crash PTLE or even windows (happened to me...).

This is a ptle bug, and i hope they fix it.

If you do a search, you will find more people experiencing the same thing.

Anyway, be sure not to have a session loaded while switching the sync-input source inside ptle
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-09-2003, 04:18 AM
Ricco Ricco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Farmington, PA USA
Posts: 98
Default Re: How do I know 001 is locked to my mini-me\'s clock?

I found this is an issue with the 001. I used the 001 with apogee psx as the clock source, I never had any reaction (in protools) when changing the source. I've been using the 002 for a couple of months now and every time the clock source changes Protools lets me know. I was connected via light pipe.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-09-2003, 07:13 AM
kmshroom kmshroom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,791
Default Re: How do I know 001 is locked to my mini-me\'s clock?

Quote:
Originally posted by Bastiaan:
To set the sync to spdif optical (yes, that is what you need, no adat), goto setup/hardware setups, set the optical format to "SPDIF" and the clock to "optical (adat)".

IMO this menu is labeled incorrectly. They call it adat, but mean the toslink connector, wich is both used by alesis for their adat-stuff and by other manufacturs for spdif optical.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Bastiaan, what the hell are you talking about. the mini-me does NOT have ANY OPTICAL CONNECTIONS on it at all. it is S/PDIF COAX. COAX. nothing to do with optical.

and ADAT optical is ADAT optical. that is labelled correctly. it is S/PDIF optical that sometimes goes under the name of toslink.
__________________
you cannot find peace by avoiding life
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-09-2003, 07:52 AM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,916
Default Re: How do I know 001 is locked to my mini-me\'s clock?

hmm....ok...didnt know that.

Then you should indeed leave the optical output to adat lightpipe, and set the clocking to SPDIF-RCA.

Sorry if i mislead you...
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-09-2003, 08:19 AM
badperson badperson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,025
Default Re: How do I know 001 is locked to my mini-me\'s clock?

did you get this resolved? I ask because I think I'm going to pick up a mini-me in the next few weeks.


How do you like it? How big of an improvement was it over the digi converter/pres?

thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Network clock not locked?? bdangler Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 15 10-09-2013 09:15 AM
Network clock not locked?? bdangler Post - Surround - Video 1 01-14-2013 10:54 AM
Pro Tools cannot play. Network clock is not locked. Erik Olsson Post - Surround - Video 8 02-23-2012 11:16 AM
Error - Network Clock is not Locked - Video Satellite Naught1 Post - Surround - Video 5 02-17-2010 09:12 PM
Can the Mini Me's Pres be bypass and only use the converter Jason Calleiro 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-04-2003 12:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com